FAS vs. P&G - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 07-07-2010, 11:09 PM   #1
Registered Member

FAS vs. P&G

hello, my name is cris, and i am new to hypermiling.

i was curious if the FAS P&G combo gains over just regular P&G would outweigh the extra wear on the powertrain by repeatedly shutting off and re engaging the electrical system as well as bump starting the engine. i am not using the starter, and wear on the clutch is, i believe minimal, as i simply engage it just enough for the ICE to turn and fire up on its own. yet still i wonder because i am constantly repeating this procedure on a 60-40mph P&G. it does seem like the wear on components is adding up rapidly. what do you guys think? thanks.

MR18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:03 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
I don't FAS on short P&G cycles. I try to save it for longer glides. If I'm doing 60-40 P&G on level land I probably don't FAS.

Remember, idling in neutral vs. shutting off is a matter of time, not distance; so 30 seconds at 20mph represents the same amount of fuel as 30 seconds at 70mph. When I first started FAS I did not stop to think of that and I had trouble deciding when to do it...I was trying to go longer distances when I really just needed to do it by time.

Old 04-11-2011, 02:07 PM   #3
Registered Member

Re: FAS vs. P&G

What is FAS and what is PG? I'm new and the lingo spoken here can sometimes read like a foreign language. Any help?
VX_Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:18 PM   #4
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arky View Post
What is FAS and what is PG? I'm new and the lingo spoken here can sometimes read like a foreign language. Any help?
here's the whole 9 yards...http://www.gassavers.org/showthread.php?t=7428
bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote