How to use vacuum gauge for FE? - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2011, 03:51 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

My Buick is meant to be connected to two vacuum sources, through a modulator device. This guy:
http://www.corvetteactioncenter.com/...m-advance.html
makes a great case for connecting it directly to manifold vacuum.
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 04:19 AM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Country: Australia
Location: Blue Mountains NSW
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

thc, that's a really interesting article.
I know nothing about American cars, so I have to accept that this guy knows what he's talking about.
The big plus here, is that it's an easy mod to make - and easily changed back if it isn't to your liking (that is a performance orientated site and they have different objectives than we do).

Good luck,
Pete.
__________________

22over7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 05:54 AM   #23
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

My vote is for manifold vacuum advance for fuel economy. The 85-87 Honda CRX HF's were carbed and all used manifold vacuum for advance.
GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:19 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

I'm going to try both the one that I think is ported vacuum (which was previously one of the two simultaneously in use for it) and good manifold vacuum.

I may do some A-B-A if they both drive well but I suspect that ported is going to run badly.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:35 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

I might be new here, but I have run Vac gauges for years, on my bikes, and muscle cars. The vac gauge needs to be on the manifold, below the butterfly to get the right readings. I know my old 67 Pontiac would idle @ 17, and as soon as you get into it, it would drop. Whether injected or Carbed, it will do the same thing.
Now with your car, it sound like the is a check valve or diaphram where you have it hooked up no. You need to have it hooked direct to the manifold to get the right readings. I use them on my Motorcycles, to make sure the carbs were Sync'ed. Good luck
The FNG
Porscheman912 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:02 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

Good news, everyone!

I moved the distributor advance to ported vacuum and the vacuum gauge to manifold vacuum (as reported in more detail in my spark plug thread).

Now:
- the vacuum gauge works right
- idle is partially better (down to 1000RPM)
- no spark knock!

My driving style was pretty close to good. I need to go easier immediately after shifting gears, and there's a couple hills I maybe should climb in a lower gear.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:27 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
FrugalFloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 383
Country: United States
Location: Bay Area, CA
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

Yahoo!
FrugalFloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:53 PM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
Good news, everyone!

I moved the distributor advance to ported vacuum and the vacuum gauge to manifold vacuum (as reported in more detail in my spark plug thread).

Now:
- the vacuum gauge works right
- idle is partially better (down to 1000RPM)
- no spark knock!

My driving style was pretty close to good. I need to go easier immediately after shifting gears, and there's a couple hills I maybe should climb in a lower gear.
As long as you're not lugging the engine on the hills you'll be more efficient climbing them in the higher gear at lower vacuum readings. I've verified this with the use of the Scan Gauge in my '97 Escort. I've also noticed in my '88 Escort that after I get to highway speed I can back out of the accelerator slightly raising engine vacuum and not losing speed for a pretty good distance.
__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 03:32 AM   #29
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Country: Australia
Location: Blue Mountains NSW
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

Congratulations!
I suppose I'll have to add this to my "must try" list.
22over7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:45 AM   #30
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: How to use vacuum gauge for FE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Man View Post
As long as you're not lugging the engine on the hills you'll be more efficient climbing them in the higher gear at lower vacuum readings. I've verified this with the use of the Scan Gauge in my '97 Escort. I've also noticed in my '88 Escort that after I get to highway speed I can back out of the accelerator slightly raising engine vacuum and not losing speed for a pretty good distance.
Thanks, I was going to ask about that...there are situations where I'm not sure whether low RPM at low vacuum and presumably rich mixture is worse than higher RPM with higher vacuum.

Turns out there's also a lot of times when the engine is struggling and bogging and vacuum is marginal, but downshifting makes vacuum drop even more...you gotta really lay into it to get this engine to higher RPM.
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Publishing Fill-up Stats from Mobile Site? smknipe Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-22-2011 06:27 AM
epa estimates cseverens Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-09-2010 04:48 AM
Missing Fuelup jmonty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 05-27-2009 05:10 AM
apexing turns kickflipjr General Fuel Topics 10 04-14-2006 08:24 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.