scangauge - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2007, 06:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
boofighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
Country: United States
scangauge

new hear to this site. did a search and did not find what i was looking for. was looking for info about how accurate it is. it lists a lot of things that it tracks. is it more accurate then the gauges on the dash.
and i was looking at the list of cars that it says that it works for. it said that it works for all 1999, this may sound lame but does my sunfire fall into that as well?
__________________

boofighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 06:57 AM   #2
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
If your car is 96+ it'll work.

Also, it should be accurate, it's using the same information your ECU will be, though the FE might take some calibration.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 12:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
boofighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
Country: United States
any one else have good/bad experiences with it?
boofighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 05:54 AM   #4
...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Country: United States
Rrecently bought one myself . I like it alot ! I sort of got accustomed to at least a factory FCD and missed it . With this you can readout instant FE and *more* it really keeps your interest piqued until good habits become second nature . Just get the danged thing ! If you decide the SGII isn't for you , put it up for sale in the 'For Sale' section here or on eBay . If you are interested , it also will help with engine/drivetrain maintainence with it's 'scan' feature . It should help save a few $ in the end .
MnFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:11 AM   #5
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
You will definitely not be disapointed with your SG. The real-time feedback is very valuble to increasing FE.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
BumblingB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 341
Country: United States
Location: NW Florida
I've had one for over a year. I think its the BEST single MPG (and more) purchase you can make for a 96+ vehicle IMO.
BumblingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:17 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_roadrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 109
Country: United States
Location: Perkasie, PA
An excellent product to increase your MPGs. I have now had one for 8 months, and love it! The gauge helped me to be the #1 Yaris in 2007.
GasSavers_roadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 07:26 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
boofighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 76
Country: United States
a few more questions.
it lists as a feature that you can run special programs, what is that about?
and if i buy it for a sunfire can i move it to a new car, say my dads chevy venture van and back?
boofighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 07:34 AM   #9
...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by boofighter View Post
a few more questions.
it lists as a feature that you can run special programs, what is that about?
and if i buy it for a sunfire can i move it to a new car, say my dads chevy venture van and back?
On the 'moving' from one to another- 96+ OBDII compatible to another ,yes . You will have to adjust for drivetrain differences . If you don't start the 2 nd vehicle (ie use as a scan tool for it ) your settings would still remain stored .

As far as the "special programs " could you elaborate as to the details ?
MnFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 09:44 AM   #10
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
Apparently there is a way to send specific commands to the ECU but the instructions don't seem to do a very good job explaining how to do this.
__________________

__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mothballs / Napthalene / WD40 SVOboy General Fuel Topics 24 11-12-2007 09:17 PM
Belated Intro GasSavers_brick Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 4 12-22-2006 07:48 AM
Vote now for your favorite signature image! Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 17 09-28-2006 10:42 PM
No Self serve in NJ zpiloto General Discussion (Off-Topic) 6 06-07-2006 01:21 PM
Atlanta Auto Show GasSavers_DaX General Discussion (Off-Topic) 26 05-07-2006 06:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.