Scangauge came in! Questions about DFCO, neutral and throttle control - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Hypermiling
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2008, 06:48 AM   #11
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEEF View Post
the AVG gauge is an X-gauge function where he uses a trip as a gauge. go to the website and read up on the X-gauge function and the add-a-gauge function. they are neat. that is also where he got the o2 sensor readings.

X-gauge codes are long and take a lot of time to put in but they are worth it. not being a computer guy, it may take me longer than some but I still got it done.
Yes, That is exactly what I've done. I programmed the cumulative current tank mileage as a gauge and named it AVG. The O2 sensor readout is also an xgauge. It took about 5 minutes each to program them into the Scangauge. Hopefully after finding out about the Cutoff value last night maybe SG will detect DFCO properly now, and my AVG readings will be more accurate.

-Jay
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 01:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
azraelswrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Country: United States
I've heard that some manuals didn't include the CUTOFF information because it was a last-minute addition to the gauge so it may not even be in your manual. I believe the scangauge website has the updated manual if you want to see it for yourself.

I have my Tank Avg MPG and Current Trip MPG programmed in. The gauges I use for daily (non-testing) drives are instant MPG, coolant temp, throttle position, and Avg Trip MPG.

Don't be surprised if it takes 2 or 3 tanks of using the SG to get it calibrated (it took me 2 tanks) so what the SG says agrees with the actual results at the pump. Couldn't have got my 43mpg tank without it.
__________________

__________________


My 5 pillars of fuel efficiency:
  • driving style
  • aerodynamics
  • tires
  • weight reduction
  • engine maintenance
azraelswrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 01:49 PM   #13
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by azraelswrd View Post
I've heard that some manuals didn't include the CUTOFF information because it was a last-minute addition to the gauge so it may not even be in your manual. I believe the scangauge website has the updated manual if you want to see it for yourself.

I have my Tank Avg MPG and Current Trip MPG programmed in. The gauges I use for daily (non-testing) drives are instant MPG, coolant temp, throttle position, and Avg Trip MPG.

Don't be surprised if it takes 2 or 3 tanks of using the SG to get it calibrated (it took me 2 tanks) so what the SG says agrees with the actual results at the pump. Couldn't have got my 43mpg tank without it.
I did download the PDF file for the SGII w/ xGauge and it does not mention cutoff...

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 04:14 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 71
Country: United States
My physical manual does have the section about the cutoff. It also had the section about the X-gauge and I was able to program the Current trip mpg, which is helping a lot more than the instantaneous mpg. I also found the Rate function and set it to Fast, but I'm not sure how much that's helping.

I'll definitely start using the fill-up function...but since getting the scangauge, it'll take more miles than usual to get down to 1/4 tank...
__________________
FLAteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 04:20 PM   #15
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAteam View Post
My physical manual does have the section about the cutoff. It also had the section about the X-gauge and I was able to program the Current trip mpg, which is helping a lot more than the instantaneous mpg. I also found the Rate function and set it to Fast, but I'm not sure how much that's helping.

I'll definitely start using the fill-up function...but since getting the scangauge, it'll take more miles than usual to get down to 1/4 tank...
I know how that is... I usually fill when the opportunity for cheap gas presents itself. I usually only buy 1/2 tank because if I wait longer I may not have cheap gas around when I need it.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 08:22 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
azraelswrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Country: United States
Hmmm... well that sucks the downloadable manual didn't mention CUTOFF. Someone's slacking off in Linear Logic!!!! Just kidding.
__________________


My 5 pillars of fuel efficiency:
  • driving style
  • aerodynamics
  • tires
  • weight reduction
  • engine maintenance
azraelswrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 07:13 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 71
Country: United States
Just in case someone ever does a search, I've got a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer and my speedometer stopped working. I joined the cleanmpg forums and they said LinearLogic will send a different cable to people that are having that kind of issue. It also seems common in Hyundai cars too.
__________________
FLAteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 07:37 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Greyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Country: United States
My Scanguage came yesterday, gotta get it hooked up for the big trip to Brainerd for the drag races this weekend. I'm as excited as when I got my Atari for christmas when I was a kid!
__________________

Greyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:21 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
azraelswrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Country: United States
http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showt...t=14513&page=2

A similar discussion on issues with the SGII. You may need the connector with all pins attached (as suggested on cleanmpg) which you can get after you call Linear Logic and tell them about your issues with the SG.
__________________

__________________


My 5 pillars of fuel efficiency:
  • driving style
  • aerodynamics
  • tires
  • weight reduction
  • engine maintenance
azraelswrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Landspeeds E-bike Conversion (Mk2) landspeed People Powered 5 06-06-2008 08:37 PM
91 CRX DX 5 Speed Head Gasket Confusion UfoTofU General Maintenance and Repair 2 04-26-2008 11:09 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.