Some hypermiling techniques illegal in my state! - Page 5 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > Hypermiling
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Click Here to Login

Old 08-03-2007, 09:12 AM   #41
Registered Member

This won't make me popular in here, BUT.....

Hypermiling falls into the caregory of a "sport" in my mind at least under current circumstances. I've been driving for a living for over 30 years and have seen multiple fatalities resulting from violations of each of the laws that some of you refer to as "stupid."

There's a smugness that men get when they're behind the wheel. I had it as a young man, when I thought all the laws regarding driving too FAST were unfair and shouldn't apply to me. I thought at the time I was more mechanically in tune with my machines than the next guy, had better reactions than anyone on earth and as long as the law left me alone to weave my way around the mere mortals.....

Hypermiling is as dangerous as street racing, and if yer gonna do it at least recognize that and take responsibilty.

In the L.A. area we have carpool lanes. All hybrid cars were, for a few years issued stickers which allowed hybrids to use these lanes with only a single occupant. I commute on a motorcycle whenever I'm forced to go down there, and I can't tell you the number of times I've been cut off by a hybrid entering the carpool lane, then slowing down to 45, flipping me off, then maintaining 45 mph or less for miles.

What the hell is that? "I'm greener than you!"? Tell me how that differs from Riceboy Racer sitting 3" from your rear bumper for 5 miles, as acts of aggression go.

Just like Riceboy, there's a time and place for our activities and if you wanna stay alive you'd better cultivate "the wisdom to know the difference" instead of bemoaning the rules of the road and human nature.

Do it when it's safe, abandon it temporarily when it's not. Simple.