What to expect? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-21-2012, 05:41 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question What to expect?

Hello everyone, I am very new to GasSavers.org. I was wondering how many MPG I can get out of my 99 Maxima 5 SPD, 3.0L. I have not bough SG2 yet. Currently I am getting around 22 City and abt 28 Hwy.

Anyone know good shifting points, RPM, or Speed, etc... to achieve the best MPG for Maxima?

Thanks everyone

GasSavers_Deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: What to expect?

Welcome!

You might find some Maxima gaslogs by searching our garage:
http://www.gassavers.org/garage/resu...RID%3A11&hl=en

I don't remember anybody who had a Maxima, so I can't point out a specific user. Hopefully somebody else can. It sounds like you're doing pretty well to start.

Your car should respond to normal strategies and techniques.

The most important thing to do is keep a gaslog. Click "Garage" at the top of the screen and add your car, then log every fill. Don't get too excited or bummed by a single tank; do look at long-term trends as they relate to different things you try.

The easiest, quickest, and most cost effective thing you can do is increase your tire pressure. The car manufacturer's recommended pressure is the minimum safe pressure for the tire size that came on the car when the car is fully loaded. The maximum rating on the tire is somewhat arbitrary but I like to not exceed it. Somewhere in between is your optimum pressure; mine is usually the max. Increased pressure benefits fuel economy, handling, durability, and tread life (despite the chance of some visible center wear), although in some vehicles it can can cause a harsh ride or (if overdone) bad handling.