app mileage not correct? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2016, 09:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Country: Canada
app mileage not correct?

Hey guys, new to the forums here. Ive had this app for a couple of years now, love it, the one and only app ive ever bought is this one lol
I had a question about the mileage I am seeing on the app vs my onboard mileage. The onboard is always a couple mpg higher than what the app is telling me. Is it because the way Ive set it up? At the moment im in Canada and the base currency in the app is usd, so rather than convert and everything, I just kept it in usd and put the amount im spending here in cad in usd in the app. I don't think that should make a difference as long as its consistent all the way. The rest I use the metric system, l/100km, gas in liters and so on but the app can convert them to whatever units you like. So im confused as to why my onboard and app mileages don't match
__________________

silverI35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 06:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
You're using aCar?
There may be some slight variances (rounding) between aCar and Fuelly at the moment.
As soon as we finish up integration, we'll work out all the little kinks in calculations.
__________________

RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 08:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Country: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertV View Post
You're using aCar?
There may be some slight variances (rounding) between aCar and Fuelly at the moment.
As soon as we finish up integration, we'll work out all the little kinks in calculations.
Yes im using aCar, not using Fuelly at all, did a few entries a year or so ago but that about it. I understand rounding but that's at most .5 at the max, not almost 2 mpg
silverI35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2016, 08:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverI35 View Post
Yes im using aCar, not using Fuelly at all, did a few entries a year or so ago but that about it. I understand rounding but that's at most .5 at the max, not almost 2 mpg
Sorry, I misread your previous post. I read 'onboard' as 'dashboard', what Fuelly refers to as your profile page.

You're talking about your vehicle display, correct?

They aren't the most accurate from what I hear. I've never personally owned a vehicle with onboard stats like that, as I don't honestly see the point; given how inaccurate they really are.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 08:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Country: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertV View Post
Sorry, I misread your previous post. I read 'onboard' as 'dashboard', what Fuelly refers to as your profile page.

You're talking about your vehicle display, correct?

They aren't the most accurate from what I hear. I've never personally owned a vehicle with onboard stats like that, as I don't honestly see the point; given how inaccurate they really are.
Yes he onboard display usually on the dash. Ive just always had a 2 mpg difference the whole time ive had the car and the app so just was never sure which one was wrong. Also, wont the size of the tank size make a difference in the calculation of mileage? I just for the sake of trying changed my tank size to about liters more and it made no difference in the mpg readings, I thought it would've changed it drastically.
silverI35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 08:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverI35 View Post
Yes he onboard display usually on the dash. Ive just always had a 2 mpg difference the whole time ive had the car and the app so just was never sure which one was wrong. Also, wont the size of the tank size make a difference in the calculation of mileage? I just for the sake of trying changed my tank size to about liters more and it made no difference in the mpg readings, I thought it would've changed it drastically.
Tank size wont matter as long as you're filling it completely each time.
In the equation MPG= #Miles Driven/#Gallons of fuel (pumped), tank size is not a factor.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 06:07 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Country: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertV View Post
Tank size wont matter as long as you're filling it completely each time.
In the equation MPG= #Miles Driven/#Gallons of fuel (pumped), tank size is not a factor.
But Im not, there are times when I partially fill yet I see no change in mpg numbers when I change the tank size
silverI35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 06:57 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverI35 View Post
But Im not, there are times when I partially fill yet I see no change in mpg numbers when I change the tank size
Tank size does not play a part in calculating MPG.
__________________

RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.