Combined service records - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2016, 07:10 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
Combined service records

Imported all my records from Gas Cubby into aCar with no problem. As I went into edit some service records, I got errors about record mileage vs date/time of other records. Figured out it was because a group of records all had the same mileage as they were done at the same time, but the date/time varied by a minute or so (the amount of time it took me to enter each individual record into Gas Cubby). Only was to fix was to export those reccords to CSV file, delete the records, edit the times to be identical in the CSV file, then reimport them. Imported fine.

Now the problem is that since the mileage and date/times are all identical, aCar combined them into ONE service record. NO!! Don't want that. Can't have that. Each one MUST be an individual service record so I can record each one's individual costs, maybe part number, where I bought that item, or item brand, etc.

OK, so how do I get it to not combine?
__________________

Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 05:30 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Can you send me the original CSV?
__________________

RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2016, 07:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
yes, this is the version I used to import the records. This is the one edited to have same date/time and odometer. It imports as one record for those matching records.
Attached Files
File Type: txt aCar-records-081616-2220.txt (3.4 KB, 12 views)
Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 06:43 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
Apparently there is no ability for aCar to handle this situation of having individual records for the same odometer and date values for differing service functions. Therefore, I will have to fake the system by making each record have a very slightly different date/time and an odometer reading of one mile difference each. Of course, the mileage will have to be in the same sequence as the chronology.

What a poop....
Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 07:14 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Sorry, it's been a busy week, and I haven't had a chance to review the CSV.
I'll touch base with aCar's dev here in a bit, and have him take a look at this thread.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 11:30 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
That would be great.
Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 01:41 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Do you have the original GasCubby CSV Export file?
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
Original gas Cubby file csv

this is the original file from Gas Cubby export. Its got a txt ending cus this forum can't understand a csv extension.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Cubby all data.txt (13.7 KB, 8 views)
Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 01:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Country: United States
Danny,

I believe that aCar does not allow you to have multiple records with the same date/time or mileage. You might try editing your CSV file so that each service record has a different mileage, say one mile greater, if you don't want to combine service records for the same day. Also make sure your date and time for each record is slightly different and they need to be in the same order. That is you can't have the mileage for a later date be less than the mileage for an earlier date.
pjschaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 05:29 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Location: Greeneville, TN
I had figured out that would be the case and had changed the records to be slightly different date/times and mileages differ by one mile each entry.

That is a poor way to have to handle such a typical situation. I am certain that I am not the only person who when you make a major repair on your vehicle, do as much surrounding the repair as long as you are in there and gone through all the effort. In this case, I put in a new long block which required pulling the whole engine out. With the clutch setting right there open, why not put a new one in?!! As long as engine is out, why not replace/rebuild the starter or alternator? How about a new water pump? New engine might need new plugs. Ought to change out any/all hoses?!

This is not an exceptional situation. Don't you change air filters, oil filters, oil, and plugs at almost same time, even though plugs can go much longer than air filters?

Should not have to "fudge" the records to make them work.
__________________

Dannyfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
importing data, service import format

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.