50 mpg-american style - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-17-2013, 06:34 AM   #1
Registered Member

50 mpg-american style

Hello fellow hypermilers! My name is Andrew, 37 year old family man and automotive technician. Im a lifelong GM owner and diehard fan, I started playing with cars at age 16 buy geting my first vehicle running and road worthy. A $500 65 Chevy C10 shortbox, (I still have it) and I guess I just never stopped. After outgrowing my youth, (teenager with a heavy foot) I always had a knack for geting above average mpg. But I srarted really geting into it when i bought a $900-one owner-95 Saturn SL2 with a bad lung. (See "The American Dream" in the garage) The original owner had developed a valve issue on #3 cylilinder. He took it to a "professional mechanic". $1500 later they called him up and said they had fixed #3 but needed another $1500 to go back in and re-ring #1,2 and 4 because it uses oil now! He declined the work and drove it for a while adding (lots of) oil when needed. I saw the ad for it in the paper and bought it. After some diagnostic work I learned two things. The cylinder with the oil consumption issue was #3, and if you kept the rpm's under 2000 rpm it wouldnt smoke or use as much oil. This is where it gets interesting. Since I had to putt it around anyway, I started hypermileing by instinct. I used it around town and kept trying to improve my mpgs. My best to date in town is 38.6. So obviously the next challenge was longer trips. My parents live 320 miles away and on my fist trip at 50 miles an hour I found out pretty qiuckly how good of mileage you could get at 50 mph. (Saturn SL2 + 2000 rpm = 50 mph) How good of mileage you ask? 53.8 mpg is my best highway so far. Not bad for the sporty version of the S series. The SL2 has lower gears and a dual overhead cam. Since then i bought a Saturn SW1,(economy wagon) I gan get 48 mpg pretty consistantly at 60-65 mph. My next challenge is building a