Hello all - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 05-30-2008, 04:23 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello all

HI everyone Goofy1 here. to start off, i have NO experience in fixing cars. i've always paid to have someone else do it. but i have a 97 Toyota Tercel(blackhawk)it has a 1.5l inline 4 with a 3 speed automatic. I know most here have standard transmissions, but being Tall in a little car makes it very hard to drive stick. But anyways, i have been tring different things on the car(simple things really) and here are the Results(all results are mixed driving city/hwy. i drive between 250-300 miles a week)

1.Starting out i was getting 27-28 mpg
2.got rid of all un-needed weight. no change
3.Did The Gumout professional fuel cleaner(yes the one at Walmart) up to 31.5 mpg. a nice increase if i do say so.
4.Tune up with a K&n air filter(the normal one, not the cone) a BIGGER increase. 35.7 mpg and that was checked today.
Not but of start considering the epa on it is 29mpg city.
But i'm looking for more ways to increase the mpg. but i need more experience in fixing cars to save some $$$.
Any thoughts or ideas would be great.
Thanks for reading and many BIG mpg's for you all.

Old 05-30-2008, 04:39 AM   #2

welcome. browse around, read about some of the methods used for higher FE. P&G is a tricky one for slushboxes, coasting is easier, driving slower is easiest. Knowing your route helps, so you can time the traffic and traffic controls (signs, lights, etc). If the budget allows, lightweight rims and low rolling resitance tires. There's more.

almightybmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 05:47 AM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by almightybmw View Post
P&G is a tricky one for slushboxes
I disagree. It's far easier in my automatic than it is in my stick.