Hello All, Thinking of buying a new car. - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 01-19-2017, 07:49 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello All, Thinking of buying a new car.

Hello Fuelly Community,

I am a car fan, I like working on my cars when I can. I also like getting really good fuel efficiency. Currently I drive a 2003 Kawasaki Ninja 250 and a 1995 volvo 945 turbo wagon with a busted odometer/speedometer (I am getting a replacement one anytime next week) so I will soon be able to see the roughly 20mpg that it gets. It is getting old and has problems I don't care to fix myself. So, I'm in the market for a new to me car. I have a list of things I want; high mpg (40+ preferably) lots of space for storage (I'm an artist who moves large sheets of metal around) I like wagons, but SUVs and Trucks aren't out of the question, but generally have worse fuel efficiency, and I like an engine bay I can understand. I've heard old Mercedes diesels can get 40+ mpg and come in wagons from the 90's but I'm having trouble finding too much information. What I really wish I could do with this site is order cars by most fuel efficient to least efficient. This shouldn't cause a race to the told effect like described in the FAQ because it shouldn't be individual's trying to race to the top, but specific cars. Thanks for reading, I look forward to hearing your recommendations.

Nat

Glasswelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:28 AM   #2
Registered Member

Hi and Welcome. To get that kind of mileage, there aren't really any diesel SUV's or trucks available on the US market, so I would recommend an old hybrid, or a diesel car. Perhaps there are a few more Jetta/Golf TDI's available now since dieselgate?