Hello and correct procedure? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2014, 04:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Country: United Kingdom
Hello and correct procedure?

Hey all

Look forward to fuell-ing

Anyway, I'm a bit confused - lets say I go and fill up, 46.7 litres. Put onto fuelly.

Now I have to put mileage, i have done no miles on this fuel as..well its new.

So does fuelly work best if I somehow remember/note down somewhere how much I put in, then I put the mileage down once its empty - does fuelly have like a "draft" mode or somewhere I can say here is the amount i have put in...now wait till its empty

another example, I did a 7 litre partial fill today, not to full just to get me where i need to go. i tick partial fill, 7 litres...and it wants to know how many miles - I have done 7 miles to where I am sat now, the tank isn't empty and if I put 7 miles in it gives me the wrong mpg for the tank - is this still ok then I go back and update when needed?

cheers
__________________

mrapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 07:00 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
Location: north east PA
You don't need to put an entry for your first fill with a new vehicle. I wouldn't because there is no way of knowing how much gas, if any, has been added during those miles, and the Fuelly log is to record my fuel economy with the vehicle. I would first fill the tank up to start with a topped off one, and reset the trip odometer. The second fill will be the first one I put into Fuelly with miles entered from the trip display.

I use trip for recording miles. As long as you reset it at each fill, I think it is the easier method. If you prefer the odometer, or the car simply doesn't have a trip one, you need to account for those previous owner miles. With a brand new car, I would just leave the few hundred miles tallied up moving the car on and off transports and such in the first Fuelly entry. They will skew the data for it because they weren't on that gas. They will soon be averaged out over the thousands of miles you hopefully have the car. With a used car, make a note of the odometer miles during your first fill, and subtract it from the number for each Fuelly fill.

With partial fills on Fuelly just put in the gas added and miles driven to that point. Just like a total fill. It will not generate a data point for it. So you won't see any off numbers it might generate. Once a full fill is entered, the partial fill(s) will be calculated into the car's averages (mpg, fill cost, tank distance, etc.)
__________________

trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 07:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapoc View Post
Anyway, I'm a bit confused - lets say I go and fill up, 46.7 litres. Put onto fuelly.

Now I have to put mileage, i have done no miles on this fuel as..well its new.
The amount of fuel that you've put in the tank now is the amount of fuel you already used in the last tank. You only need to know how many miles since the last fill.

Once you've filled up you're resetting your fill level to the known-full level and starting a new tank.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 07:37 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Country: United Kingdom
Ok so the only real way to use fuelly is full to empty to full to empty etc.

I was confused by the partial refill I think

So the first ever fill up...I put in 50 litres...do i then wait till its empty before I fill it in, or what do I put in mileage?
mrapoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 08:14 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
I'm new here (transferred when Fuelly swallowed Gassavers) but I think Fuelly automatically ignores the first tank for you. If not, I would just not log the first tank.

When you fill the tank, the miles that you previously put on are what goes in the log.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 06:15 PM   #6
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Start with a full tank. Fuelly does not give you a vehicle average until you have 3 tanks to even things out when starting a new log.
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.