Hello from SoCal! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 04-13-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hello from SoCal!

Hi Folks:

I just picked up this 'new to me' 2005 Dodge 2500 HD 4x4 with the Cummins Turbo Diesel. As far as I know, it is stock with the exception of lift (don't know what type), and 305's instead of stock tires. I got the build sheet from Dodge, and this thing came loaded. It had the 3.73 gears; don't know how the larger tires will affect it.

I didn't get it because it was particularly fuel efficient, but I needed something to pull my 25' toy hauler. I joined this site so I could keep an eye on my fuel economy, and see if there are ways I can improve it. Currently, my best is about 14.7, with 12.5 being the average with mixed driving, including some towing. I obey the posted limit (55 in California) when towing both for economy, and the fact that I'm a new tow driver. I'm going to drive the truck as is for now, probably doing an ahead of schedule oil change before our cross country trip this summer.

That's all for now..

baldtat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 04:48 AM   #2
Registered Member

Welcome.

Going back to stock tires and lift will help with fuel economy. Taller means more frontal area and more air going under the truck. Both are bad for aerodynamics.

trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 05:20 AM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
With different-size tires and no adjustment made, the odometer and speedometer (and any onboard MPG display, if equipped) are reading wrong. The speedometer effect has a secondary effect of possibly throwing an automatic transmission's shift calculations slightly out of whack.