Hi :) - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 06-04-2010, 01:32 AM   #1
Registered Member

Smile Hi :)

I'm new to the forum, of course.

I have a 95 chevy blazer (live in the mountains of WV) and looking for ideas on how to be more fuel efficient w/o selling.

Probably won't say much since I'm new to all this just looking around for ideas

Best,
ren

lilbirdblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 07:10 AM   #2
Registered Member

the best thing I have found was the scangauge though the cut off year is 1996. there were some models that used obd2 on 1995.

you may look into a stand alone MPG meter or just an old fashioned vacuum gauge.

other than that, cut your top speed down a bit and go no faster than speed limit. there is also the tires to maximum side wall pressure (not the door jam numbers). and you could play around with a grill block.

oh, and welcome to the site. conversation is a good thing. if you have questions, more than likely someone will be able to help you. we are pretty friendly for the most part. we don't tend to flame newbies here unless you are trying to sell something so join right in.

good to have you

GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 12:08 PM   #3
Registered Member

Thank you BEEF....I'll look into the vacuum guage thing and see what I can do.

I did by a tire guage that checks the pressure, did it today and they seemed fine....by fine I mean what the guy at the tire center told me it should be. I'll look and see what I can find out about tire pressure here to see if recommended different.

I have reduced my speed and using Over-drive on the main roads. I'm also trying to be very aware of my foot on the gas....planning a head coasting and such AND going the speed limit

I did get some Berryman's fuel treatment and will add it to the tank next time I fill up.

I'm just trying to do a lot of little things to help b/c there seems to be no big or quick fix.

Thanks again