Hi - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2016, 08:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: upstate NY
Hi

I just got a new Moto G3. All my data is on my old Rugby Smart (Samsung). I've spent 2 days trying to transfer the data over, but no luck. Anybody help?
PS the Fit has been getting 41+ mpg since the weather warmed up.
__________________

bikommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 12:13 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Are you referring to aCar by chance?
__________________

RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 06:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: upstate NY
Absolutely. All the research I've done says it's not possible, not even with a paid upgrade.
bikommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 12:48 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikommuter View Post
Absolutely. All the research I've done says it's not possible, not even with a paid upgrade.
That's strange. Where were you looking?

It's noted in the FAQ within the app-
Quote:
How do I move to a new phone or tablet?
If you're using the PRO edition:
  1. Launch aCar on your old phone/tablet.
  2. Go to Import/Export Center and take a full backup of your data.
  3. Connect your old phone/tablet to your computer and copy the content of following directory from your old SD-Card (or from the internal storage of your phone/tablet depending on the brand and model) to the new one:
  4. /zonewalker-acar/*.abp
  5. Install aCar on your new phone/tablet, and launch it.
  6. You will get the auto restore dialog right after the launch.
  7. Choose the backup file you're going to restore from and DONE!
  8. Upgrade to Pro on your new phone/tablet.
  9. If you somehow manage to miss the auto restore dialog, just go to Import/Export Center and manually restore your backup from there.
  10. If everything went fine on your new phone/tablet, it's safe to uninstall aCar from the old one.

If you're using the FREE edition:
  1. Connect your old phone/tablet to your computer and copy the content of following directory, where your automatic backup files are stored, from your old SD-Card (or from the internal storage of your phone/tablet depending on the brand and model) to the new one:
  2. /zonewalker-acar/*.abp
  3. Install aCar on your new phone/tablet, and launch it.
  4. You will get the auto restore dialog right after the launch.
  5. Choose the backup file you're going to restore from and DONE!
  6. If everything went fine on your new phone/tablet, it's safe to uninstall aCar from the old one.
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 02:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: upstate NY
OK Connected my old phone to my computer. Now what? I can't find it on the computer.It used to register, but I can't find it now.
bikommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2016, 03:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,900
Country: United States
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikommuter View Post
OK Connected my old phone to my computer. Now what? I can't find it on the computer.It used to register, but I can't find it now.
Cant find the phone storage or the /zonewalker-acar folder? What used to register?
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 06:54 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: upstate NY
making headway.

OK my old phone was plug and play. It automatically installed itself. The Moto G3 required that I go to motorola's website and download a connection manager. Now I can see the Moto G on my computer. I am going to re-try your instructions to see if I can transfer the data. Thanks for the kick start. The only place I did not try for transfer instructions was the ap itself.
bikommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2016, 07:38 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 5
Country: United States
Location: upstate NY
OK this is getting maddening. I can now see both phones on my computer. With only the Rugby plugged in, I can see the aCar file, but not the /zonewalker-acar/*.abp. If I do a search, the computer can't find it. What am I doing wrong?Do I need to move the file (on the phone) to another location before I can transfer it?
__________________

bikommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.