New member with Mazada - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 07-25-2016, 03:05 PM   #1
Registered Member

New member with Mazada

Hey everyone. I just joined the site yesterday.

I traded in my 2002 Subaru Impreza for a new 2016 Mazda 3 just two days ago so I figure I'd track the fuel economy from the beginning (well, almost the beginning since I don't have the odometer reading and gallons for the first fill since that was done by the dealer).

I had been using an UltraGauge in the Subaru for about the last 3 years but I didn't record anything anywhere. But I never reset the average MPG and I ended up with 27.5 MPG overall average.

I put the UltraGauge in the Mazda yesterday and found that, in general, it agrees fairly well with the car's trip economy number. The UltraGauge updates much more frequently so the number may not be close at first, but it starts to converge after ~15 minutes of driving. But I have yet to calibrate the UltraGauge for the Mazda. I hope it's pretty close as I really like the numbers I'm seeing.

Later,
-Bob

gonzobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 10:09 PM   #2
Registered Member

Hi Bob
Good luck - i'm sure you'll save a fortune on fuel with your Mazda!

Old 07-25-2016, 11:08 PM   #3
Registered Member

Welcome to Fuelly Bob, congrats on the new car.

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel
Draigflag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 02:56 AM   #4
Registered Member

hi n welcome bob
im sure new car will see u with some good fuel savings,

I have wondered about buying a scan gauge here but im not sure if theres much if any benefit over and above cars computer with live mpg
MukkyPaws1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 06:03 AM   #5
Registered Member