Aftermarket Cruise Control - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 12:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Mighty Mira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 315
Country: United States
Aftermarket Cruise Control

Has anyone installed one of these and actually been happy with it?

The reason I ask is that I paid a shop to install one once (that I had bought), and it worked badly.

Basically it would work ok on the level, but as soon as it began to climb a hill the cruise control would stop working.

The shop had said something about the car (a camry) not having enough vacuum to do the job right.

Any idea what had happened, any success stories with self installation on little cars, and any pointers to good commercial products?

Thanks in advance,
MM
__________________

Mighty Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 02:13 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
GeoMetry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 47
Country: United States
I added an Audiovox CCS-100 to my Metro and have been very satisfied. Here is a link to a little Metro How to.
__________________

GeoMetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 06:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 259
Country: United States
I had one a few years ago on a Toyota Tacoma that was installed by my brother that is a mechanic at the local dealer and it never worked right. Best of luck.
__________________
See my car here:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2452824

GasSavers_Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 07:07 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Mighty Mira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 315
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeoMetry
I added an Audiovox CCS-100 to my Metro and have been very satisfied. Here is a link to a little Metro How to.
How does that work with a manual car? I've never had cruise on a manual car before, you have one, I'd be curious to know how it worked.
Mighty Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:23 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_brick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 162
Country: United States
Cruise control works just fine on a manual car, but mine is factory-installed so I can't tell you anything about aftermarket. The only difference is the addition of a sensor that disengages CC as soon as you begin to step on the clutch pedal. It works seamlessly on the Honda, and I often clutch directly from a cruise when I want to initiate a neutral coast.
__________________
'07 Toyota Prius
GasSavers_brick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 05:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Mighty Mira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 315
Country: United States
Thanks Brick, but I'd like to know from GeoMetry because it might determine whether I get the audiovox or not.
Mighty Mira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 04:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
I think I will be needing to install CC now that i will have a long commute. I remember someone mentioning one that had a control that you could adjust how hard it made the engine work to hold the selected speed. I cant find the post on that. Does anyone remember that one? Also, besides the Audiovox in this thread, any other recommendations?
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 04:38 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
What happened to hand controlled throttle lock? I still say you could do it with another cable and an auto throttle wheel.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 06:02 PM   #9
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Well, basically a cable hooked up the the throttle somehow with a clamp so rather than cruise control by speed it's done by throttle position,
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 06:48 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 58
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
I think I will be needing to install CC now that i will have a long commute. I remember someone mentioning one that had a control that you could adjust how hard it made the engine work to hold the selected speed. I cant find the post on that. Does anyone remember that one? Also, besides the Audiovox in this thread, any other recommendations?
If you're good with wiring, you could always go with factory cruise. I did it on my DX and have been very happy with the result. It was a lot of work though. I can give more details if you're interested.

-- Scott
__________________

__________________
GasSavers_scostanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More chart options gt1 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-12-2011 05:58 AM
Average fuel mileage line in the history graph? BDC Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 05-06-2009 01:07 AM
iPhone WebApp? Billie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 11 08-09-2008 12:59 PM
speculate: Will a fixed IACV help gas mileage? SVOboy General Fuel Topics 8 04-09-2006 12:49 PM
What do you think of this layout? Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 11-22-2005 08:39 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.