Air filters and fuel economy - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 05-20-2009, 09:04 AM   #1
Registered Member

Question Air filters and fuel economy

I am a fleet manager for a car sharing company and our director is suggesting that we change out our air filters more often than recommended to increase our fuel economy. I have talked to several mechanics who say it will make no difference if I switch out before 15,000 miles. Does anyone know if new air filters more often can actually make a difference? Also, any difference in economy between paper aftermarket filters and the dealer specified ones?

Ithacarshare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:20 AM   #2
Registered Member

generally speaking, I would go with manufacturer and mechanic recommendations. that being said, if these vehicles are driven down dirt roads where they ingest large amounts of dirt that cloggs the air filters then you may benefit from a change sooner (I assume this isn't the case).

I would say to see what the air filter looks like just before it is replaced. usually the one being replaced doesn't even look that bad when it is thrown away.

also, on your question about aftermarket filters. these generally help with less restriction which logically makes sense to give you better fuel economy but people that drive with FE in mind hardly ever open the throttle to it's potential anyway. theoretically, you could see a gain from this but I have yet to see anyone that will say that they have gained XX amount of miles per gallon with that change.