Another new VX owner - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 07-12-2008, 10:44 AM   #1
Registered Member

Another new VX owner

I just acquired a '92 VX (teal). Man, are they hard to come by, especially a stock VX! I'm not a mechanic, so I've learned a lot already from this site.

Here's an issue I have: It's very difficult, if not impossible, to maintain a steady speed (at 55 or 60 mph for example). While trying to maintain a speed while highway driving (though I've noticed some of this behavior at other speeds), the engine hesitates or stutters, and then starts dropping speed. When I apply slight pressure to the pedal to maintain the speed and break through the hesitation, it then slowly keeps accelerating. So, I back off and the process starts all over again.

I've read a lot of threads on this site about O2 sensors, but I have no idea if that's the issue.

Only once has the CEL come one. About 10 minutes into highway trip, the light came on, but then actually started running much smoother and I was able to maintain a cruising speed. But that was only once, it's back to the behavior mentioned above. BTW, the shift indicator light rarely comes on.

I've only put about 600 miles on it so far, but I've put gas in it twice and recorded 45 mpg and 50 mpg, even running like I've described.

We added new plugs and filters, as well as a timing belt and rear muffler. Just the other day I bought some stock size 165/70 13 Sumitomo HTR T4s. I don't mind putting some money into this car to get it up to speed, so to speak. Price a hybrid lately, even a used one?! I'll still be ahead by $thousands before it's all said and done.

Thanks,
Rick

Old 07-12-2008, 11:03 AM   #2
Registered Member

try changing the spark plugs, but since you had a CEL, maybe your O2 sensor is the problem, but the spark plugs will be much cheaper to try first.

Make sure you get the good ones. "The VX uses NGK V-Power Spark Plugs No. ZFR4F-11".