Anyone got a dyno? - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 08:31 PM   #11
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Depends on the dyno and how

Depends on the dyno and how often of a customer you are. Like 30-100 bucks and hour prolly. I know a guy that's gonna open a shop with some friends and build a dyno, so I think I might use him, but that won't be for some months.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 08:34 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
anyone got a wind tunnel?

anyone got a wind tunnel?
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:33 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Country: United States
SVOboy: (Only a remark if

SVOboy: (Only a remark if you dont know
You should find a "real/advanced/professional" type dyno that can apply adjustable torque at a particular RPM. Basic, simple inertial dynomometers is not suitable for this job. They are only for testing maximum speed, power, torque, acceleration etc..
Also there are precise fuel consumption testing gadgets used at this type of measurements you might want to use them also.
Capcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 06:32 AM   #14
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
$150 / hour.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatland2D
How much does dyno time usually cost?
$150 / hour.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:46 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 144
Country: United States
Re: SVOboy: (Only a remark if

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm guessing you'll only find a "real/advanced/professional" dyno like that at a full blown research facility. There's a huge research institute down here (Southwest Research Institute for anyone interested) that does loads of automative testing. I'm sure they have all the equipment we dream of for this hobby. But, they'd probably charge thousands of dollars if not more just for one test. I can't imagine an automotive shop paying for more than what they need (all most people use a dyno for is to get horsepower/torque numbers).

Also, if you need a dyno to see the effects of a mod, then it's probably not worth doing. I think highway testing with the top off method is accurate to +/- 0.1mpg. If you're within that range of error you should probably look elsewhere for potential gains.
__________________
Scouring the country for an excellent condition Civic VX
Flatland2D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 09:02 AM   #16
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Flatland, you're probably

Flatland, you're probably talking about an engine dyno. Many "tuner shops" have a chassis dyno, some better than others. The difference is that one dynos an engine by itself and one dynos an engine that is still in the car.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 02:39 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 48
Country: United States
Re: Flatland, you're probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaX
Flatland, you're probably talking about an engine dyno. Many "tuner shops" have a chassis dyno, some better than others. The difference is that one dynos an engine by itself and one dynos an engine that is still in the car.
And that "kind" of dyno should be able to apply adjustable torque to the rollers. I dont think they would charge thousands of dollars but definitely it would be much more then just an ordinary maximum power test.
Capcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:01 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Country: United States
I have two friends on the

I have two friends on the east coast if that helps?

We can pull three runs for about $60 where I live.
iburnh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 07:04 PM   #19
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Nice to see you posting, ,

Nice to see you posting, , after so long lurking. Where on the east coast to be exact? 3 runs for 60 bucks sounds about standard to me unless you're doing dyno days (which would be cheaper).
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 08:44 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Diemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 163
Country: United States
i got acsess to a dyno at

i got acsess to a dyno at school. it's the ref's but we,students, are able to use it at night. it's a smog dyno so we can put a load on the motor and weigh it but moving the car 3 inches
__________________

__________________
I ♥ my EM2


Need this stuff gone!
http://www.honda-tech.com/zero...67053[/B]
GasSavers_Diemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
google+ integration? xchrislee Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 07-15-2011 02:55 AM
Ave MPG higher than best ever tonedepear Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-04-2011 05:06 PM
More filters for graphs TnS Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 02-12-2011 02:37 AM
I wish... SummitSonata Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 12-15-2010 07:47 AM
Last MPG and Best MPG gabe1475 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 10-29-2009 02:02 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.