Civic VX (CA) model question? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2009, 07:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Civic VX (CA) oxygen sensor question?

Hello guys and girls of Gassavers, I just have a question concerning my 92 civic vx (CA model) oxygen sensor. When I purchased my vx 3 months ago, I was planning on converting it into the FED model. Well I was suprised to find out that the O2 sensor was already a 5wires sensor. I know that the CA vx only require a 4wires O2 sensors. Did the 92 CA vx come with the 5wires O2 sensor and require a 5wires O2 sensor? I've looked it up on ebay and I still can't find a O2 sensor for a 92 CV vx. Ebay only carry the O2 sensor for the 93-95 CA vx and it's a 4wires sensor.
__________________

GasSavers_viperguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 09:58 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
The 92 CA model did come with the 5 wire, you can get a P07-A00 or A01 Federal ECU plug it in a away you'll go!
__________________

__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 01:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomO View Post
The 92 CA model did come with the 5 wire, you can get a P07-A00 or A01 Federal ECU plug it in a away you'll go!
If I want to keep it in the CA version, can I just replace it with a 93-95 4wires O2 sensor? It seems that the 92 may have a different plug for the O2 wiring (5wires) and the 93-95 may have a 4wires plug. Can I just depin the the 92-95 4wires O2 sensor wiring into the 5wires (92) plug. There's no point in buying the expensive L1h1 sensor if I'm just going to keep it in CA mode and use the CA ECU.
GasSavers_viperguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:02 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_TomO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,108
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via MSN to GasSavers_TomO Send a message via Yahoo to GasSavers_TomO
Plenty of 92 CA model VXs have been upgraded to the FEd version and still passed emissions with no problem though. I say if you have the wideband already and want better mileage, the P07-A00/A01 upgrade is well worth it.

If you really want to go to a 4-wire then you'd need the P07-L01 and then need to get the 4-wire connector and splice it into your engine wire harness. I'm no expert on the swap but I believe it involves re-pinning two pins on the ECu as well. A lot more hassle if you ask me.

There are places that sell the L1H1 for $90 and for $180. If you end up getting the A00/A01 ECU and a new L1H1 it will pay off itself in a couple years easy with the better gas mileage, plus it will be a lot less work on your part.
__________________

Honda Civic VX Info/Links
Remember to use good Webiquette!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeedee View Post
controversy is an idea thought up by weak people who are too afraid to hear the truth.
GasSavers_TomO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 01:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomO View Post
Plenty of 92 CA model VXs have been upgraded to the FEd version and still passed emissions with no problem though. I say if you have the wideband already and want better mileage, the P07-A00/A01 upgrade is well worth it.

If you really want to go to a 4-wire then you'd need the P07-L01 and then need to get the 4-wire connector and splice it into your engine wire harness. I'm no expert on the swap but I believe it involves re-pinning two pins on the ECu as well. A lot more hassle if you ask me.

There are places that sell the L1H1 for $90 and for $180. If you end up getting the A00/A01 ECU and a new L1H1 it will pay off itself in a couple years easy with the better gas mileage, plus it will be a lot less work on your part.
Thanks, I guess if I want to keep it in CA mode than I might just have to go that route.
GasSavers_viperguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Chip Sabotage shatto General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 05-19-2009 12:54 AM
Greetings from NC Roadking41a Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 0 06-16-2008 08:17 PM
Is there a OBDI or OBDII conversion for older vehicles? kozaz General Fuel Topics 3 11-13-2007 08:32 PM
New Dodge sub-compact from China. Fuzzy5150 General Fuel Topics 45 07-16-2007 05:39 AM
I just finished my HF transmission swap GasSavers_Erik General Fuel Topics 7 01-30-2007 01:51 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.