d15z1 into a 95 integra ls, please help - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 07-14-2008, 06:06 AM   #1
Registered Member

d15z1 into a 95 integra ls, please help

I JUST BOUGHT A 95 INTEGRA LS AND I WANT TO DO A D15Z1 SWAP. I FOUND THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION AT A GOOD PRICE, BUT WHAT ELSE DO I NEED? ENGINE MOUNTS, ECU, WIRING HARNESS, AXELS, O2 SENSOR, ETC? i HAVE NEVER SWAPPED AN ENGINE. I AM AN AMATEUR AT THIS SO THE MORE FEEDBACK THE BETTER. pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease! thanks

95integravx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 05:44 PM   #2
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95integravx View Post
I JUST BOUGHT A 95 INTEGRA LS AND I WANT TO DO A D15Z1 SWAP. I FOUND THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION AT A GOOD PRICE, BUT WHAT ELSE DO I NEED? ENGINE MOUNTS, ECU, WIRING HARNESS, AXELS, O2 SENSOR, ETC? i HAVE NEVER SWAPPED AN ENGINE. I AM AN AMATEUR AT THIS SO THE MORE FEEDBACK THE BETTER. pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease! thanks
I hate to say it. But this swap is probably not the best idea. The problem here is that the gearing on the D15Z1 transmission is REALLY tall - even in first gear. Starting out in first with this transmission in a Civic usually involves a fair amount of clutch slipping. How do you think things are going to be in a car that weighs 700 pounds more than a Civic VX? Honestly, you are going to have problems getting that car to move. It may not even be possible to get it to move if you have to come to a stop on a decently steep hill. Also, fifth is sufficiently tall (and the torque of a D15Z1 sufficiently small) that you are NOT going to be able to maintain freeway speeds in fifth gear in an Integra. Of course, try what you want. After all, it's your car. But I just don't think that a drivetrain that is on the slow side for a 2000 pound car is a good idea in a 2700 pound car.

StorminMatt is offline   Reply With Quote