Day time running Lights - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2007, 05:25 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
VetteOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,546
Country: United States
hehe i disabled them by yanking out the fuse on my 95 s-10 everything still works too. the 98+ s-10 ya gotta bend pin 86 on the drl relay.

i wired up my headlights directly to the battery (with relays) and now thier very noticeably brighter! im gonna do it to my next car its that good.
__________________

VetteOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 05:30 PM   #12
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondlarry View Post
All I have to do now is figure out what I fried and how much it will cost to fix.
At least you didn't toast the SG! I unplug mine anytime I'm tinkering around the electricals on the car.
__________________

davidjh72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 05:42 PM   #13
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
diamondlarry -

Quote:
Originally Posted by diamondlarry View Post
All I have to do now is figure out what I fried and how much it will cost to fix.
I just e-bayed these :

98-99 Saturn S Series Cluster Speedometer Gauges LKQ
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/98-99...em190103661514

98-99 SATURN S SERIES INSTRUMENT CLUSTER
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/98-99...em290106680905

Have you done a forensic analysis? Are the gauges really fried or are there blown fuses that can be restored?

Sounds like it's pick-a-part time.

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 05:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
I added a switch to turn mine off, but I still drive lights-on during the day in certain traffic/road scenarios.

I used to teach defensive driving - lights on for safety is a no brainer. Though there are clearly some situations where they're wasting power and not contributing to safety (ie divided, limited access highways).
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:02 PM   #15
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfg83 View Post
diamondlarry -



I just e-bayed these :

98-99 Saturn S Series Cluster Speedometer Gauges LKQ
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/98-99...em190103661514

98-99 SATURN S SERIES INSTRUMENT CLUSTER
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/98-99...em290106680905

Have you done a forensic analysis? Are the gauges really fried or are there blown fuses that can be restored?
Sounds like it's pick-a-part time.

CarloSW2
Thanks for the links. I'll check them out tomorrow when I get home. As for the guages, I'm not sure. The speedo and tach occasionally go up and stop at random places. Yesterday, the tach went past 8K and stayed there for awhile then dropped back.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:04 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
BumblingB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 341
Country: United States
Location: NW Florida
I opted to keep them in my Metro. Reason: EXCELLENT backup headlights. I live in the country (bad roads) and like many Metros my fuse box is a bit on the fried side due to the chintziness of it. Until I rewire it, I'll leave them - the headlights regularly just "go out" when I'm driving along my bumpy dirt roads, all I do is switch over to DRL's and I'm fine.

I hated my Saturns DRL's, they're so bright they blind people. If you drive a Saturn S series and tell me you've never been brighted because of your DRL, I'll either say you don't drive it much or you're a liar.
BumblingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:14 PM   #17
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
Wazabi -

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wazabi Owner View Post
I opted to keep them in my Metro. Reason: EXCELLENT backup headlights. I live in the country (bad roads) and like many Metros my fuse box is a bit on the fried side due to the chintziness of it. Until I rewire it, I'll leave them - the headlights regularly just "go out" when I'm driving along my bumpy dirt roads, all I do is switch over to DRL's and I'm fine.

I hated my Saturns DRL's, they're so bright they blind people. If you drive a Saturn S series and tell me you've never been brighted because of your DRL, I'll either say you don't drive it much or you're a liar.
Yeah, I never knew the Saturn DRL's were actually the hi-beams. Somebody designed a two-for-one and it didn't work out. Why not just leave the low-beams on instead?

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:16 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
You sure the Saturn DRLs aren't high beams run through a resistor to cut their light output?
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:23 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Peakster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 467
Country: United States
Quote:
If daytime running lights were on all the vehicles in the U.S., we would burn an extra 406 million gallons of gas each year. That's only a couple gallons for each vehicle, but in total it is more than all of the vehicles in the country burn in a day. At $1.50 a gallon, that's $600 million per year. Looking at it another way, an extra 8 billion pounds of Carbon Dioxide would be added to the atmosphere by this law.
Wowser, that's a lot of fuel!

Quote:
That's only a couple gallons for each vehicle [per year?]
So it's a lot of gas burned cumulatively, but not very much per each individual vehicle (aka, not really worth disabling DRLs for increased FE).
Peakster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
BumblingB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 341
Country: United States
Location: NW Florida
I've heard they were run through a resister, but they are just so darn bright I find it hard to believe. On my old SW2 I just pulled the relay and never got around to running the jumper wire - sacrificed the one high beam.
__________________

BumblingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine size?! DuckFeet Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 04-25-2012 10:58 PM
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Batch Import? somedirection Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 08-08-2008 08:25 AM
Need some help mtbiker278 General Fuel Topics 4 04-14-2006 10:16 AM
Any ideas how to install this? Compaq888 General Maintenance and Repair 0 12-21-2005 01:46 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.