first tank on the yaris - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2011, 07:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
first tank on the yaris

not super impressive but it took me a month and a half to get it.

41.5 MPG

still set me just below 30% over epa. I know I can do better but I drive it once weekly. it has been over 2.5 years since I drove a stick consistently and my previous stick shift had almost 3x the power of this car.

there are some things I just need to do. the tires are still whatever pressure they were when I bout the thing. I need to change that. I just put a tach on the thing so that will help with shifting earlier. i also put a shift extender on recently (more for comfort). never been a big fan of the really short shift sticks. maybe it is because I always had manual trucks.

my car will only get filled up about once a month right now so the gas log will probably take a while to really fill up or get a consistent number on. it is a ball to drive and it revs to 4k without even thinking. redline is 6,250. buddy of mine wants me to autocross it. I may take it out just for the heck of it.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:41 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
VX_Arky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 327
Country: United States
Location: Jonesboro, Arkansas
Re: first tank on the yaris

That's a good start. Keep us posted!
__________________

VX_Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:33 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: first tank on the yaris

I'm surprised that any car came without a tach these days, and that the shifter wasn't already in a comfortable position (unless you meant that you prefer the leverage of the longer shifter).

How did you extend the shifter? Could it be possible to relocate the shifter up at all, since it's probably linked by a cable?
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:25 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: first tank on the yaris

I prefer the feel of a truck (if that makes any sense). I also added an armrest which was OEM on some of them but made the low shifter even more uncomfortable.

there is a company (microimageonline.com) that sells yaris stuff. the extender is basically just a billet alluminum rod with a threaded section on both sides (male on one end and female on the other). I did dress it up a bit to make it not quite so ugly.





I made the little black piece just to make it a little dressier. I have been trying to do all my stuff on a budget as the car itself has a payment to it (not used to that). I plan to take some better pics as these were rushed and I have none of the tach just yet.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 05:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: first tank on the yaris

I waited too long and couldn't edit my post. here are some more pics that I got (whats up with the 60 minute limit on posting?)

here are some more pics of my shifter and one of my new tach. still working on the tach.

(in neutral)

(in 4th)....

(tach)......
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 03:48 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Re: first tank on the yaris

A great start, BEEF. My first tank came in at about 42 mpg. My most recent fill-up came in at 56 mpg. And that's with an ATX! Once you get a feel for the car, the mileage will jump up real quick. Have fun!
yaryarbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:29 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: first tank on the yaris

yary,

my biggest issue right now is it isn't my daily driver so not sure how much I can really do with it. hard to switch between the two.

also, I noticed you have your lower grill blocked off. is that all the time? no issues? I have thought about that but was going to wait. yaris owners aren't abundant around here and being that I don't drive it much, I can't really experiment like I want to.

right now I am still learning the car. it is a fun little car and I will admit that it is nice to get it wound up to about 5K (that is probably hurting me)
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 05:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Re: first tank on the yaris

BEEF,

Blocked the lower grill about three weeks ago and haven't had any issues yet. According to my Scangauge, my internal water temps have not exceeded 200 degrees F, and that was on the warmest day yet this year (86 degrees F).

On most days, water temps run in the 180s and 190s.

I used galvanized sheet metal cut to match the grill opening, and toggle bolted the sheet to the honeycomb grill. (toggles on the interior). Hard to say how much FE improvement I have had, as I am just getting used to my Yaris as well. Figured it could only help as long as my water temps remain below boil point.

[IMG][/IMG]
yaryarbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Country: United States
Re: first tank on the yaris

Oops...correction...

Lower grill is not honeycomb. Lower grille block attached to slatted lower grill using toggle bolts.
yaryarbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:47 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: first tank on the yaris

yaryarbing, with your automatic transmission, you should try to program an XGauge to monitor transmission fluid temperature. You may find that your water temperature is fine but your transmission temperature is up after your grill block. Heat is the automatic transmission's worst enemy.
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone put their GasSavers sigs on other car forums? (Also, the $15 gallon....) landspeed General Discussion (Off-Topic) 5 05-27-2008 01:10 AM
A reminder about injector cleaning gto78 General Fuel Topics 29 03-07-2008 06:03 AM
6Cyl running on 4 TeamExploder General Fuel Topics 6 11-09-2007 07:00 PM
New Member smccall Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 18 10-01-2007 11:48 AM
Just fired up the swamp cooler Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 13 08-04-2006 06:43 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.