Geo Prism or Toyota Corolla - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 11-30-2007, 04:54 PM   #1
Registered Member

Geo Prism or Toyota Corolla

the search for a civic in my price range has come up dry. saw a couple at a major dealer that are now GONE!

found two cars of interest. first a 1997 prism(SGII compatible ) w/144k miles for $2K, but not a major dealer(not certified). the question of taking my trade is a concern.

next a 1994 corolla(not SG compatible ) w/116k miles for $4k @ a major dealer(certified). prolly take my trade but not give much.

these are twins correct? throw your thoughts to me please. keep in mind i am a novice mechanic only. would rather pay a little extra for certification than get a fixer-upper. thanks!

bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 05:12 PM   #2
Registered Member

Send a message via AIM to ajohnmeyer
Yep, they're twins alright.

My family have owned 3 corollas/prisms between them at various times. Heck my dad still has the one he bought new back in '92. But it has a new(er) motor in it now out of a Corolla.

They're good little cars, pretty solid, easy to work on. Aero isn't even too terrible.

Oh, and 2 of 3 of the corrola/prisms have/had over 250k on them and still running strong. The one with the replaced motor got a hole in a piston somewhere over 200K, but it's gotta be well on it's way to 300k with the new motor in it.

Team OPEC Busters!
ajohnmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 05:51 PM   #3
Supporting Member

bowtieguy -

Yes, they're the same car. A prism is like getting a Toyota Corolla at a domestic-discount price. Do you have a mechanic you trust that can give the Prism the whats-over? Does Matt have the CARFAX thing still going?

CarloSW2

What's your EPA MPG? https://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp