Grill Block on 2000 Chevy Cavalier... - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 06-09-2007, 06:05 PM   #1
Registered Member

Grill Block on 2000 Chevy Cavalier...

I have been hypermiling for about three months now when I finally decided to take it to the next level, and try some grill blocks. The material that I used was a white cardboard box that I believed would match the color of my car (which in the end it did very well). I used duck tape in order to hold all of the cardboard pieces to the car.

The toughest part of this project was attaching the cardboard to the hood in order to fill the gap between the hood, and the bumper. I had to tape the cardboard on the underside to the underside of the hood in order to make it work. In the end it all worked out yet i had a little more of a gap at the bottom than I would of liked so I added more to the cardboard hood piece.

With the bumper pieces I had to line stips of duck tape together to form a block, and then thread them through the bumper, extend the duct tape so it could have a lip of the card board, and wall la instant grill block. I left the center piece of the bumper clear so some air could pass through to the radiator to prevent massive overheating.

After achieving all of this I decided that it was time to head out for Dodge City Kansas! Yehaw! This trip would take about 70miles, and a round trip of 140 not including intown driving time. I first arrived in Dodge City, and my fuel gadge was still on the Full Needle, and had not moved since I started out on my ride. When all was said, and done I traveled 159 miles, and used what my fuel gauge said was 3/16 of a 15 gallon tank of gas.

The only problem with this was I didnt know if topping off the tank hurt my results any or the minimal driving I did before testing.

So these are my estimations....Give me your opinions...