Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2012, 06:43 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Hey guys,

Just an update here. I've recieved my new Turbogauge and installed it in the car last night. What a great little tool!

One thing i'm concerned about is my IAT. I've converted the car to a WAI, but the IAT is reading about 44C (roughly 100F) when the car is warm.

Does this seem cooler than it should be?

P.S. The air is being drawn from the exhaust manifold.
__________________

CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:00 AM   #22
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

I'd love to know more about your experience with the Turbogauge...keep us updated. I don't suppose that, in Chinese knockoff cloning perfection, it has an XGauge function like the Scangauge II and it's just not documented...

Anyway, 100?F is a good start. You might be able to do better. Can you post photos of your WAI?
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 07:07 AM   #23
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

you may want to talk about delta. how much over ambient are you? if the delta is only 10 degrees, you may want to make a shield from window flashing or similar. if the delta is 60 degrees, you're probably fine. (degrees in F)

you don't want to get it set in the winter and then it top out at 250+ in the summer. I have heard that 180 is a good maximum temp to shoot for.

I may have to look into this turbo gauge. it looks very interesting.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 10:51 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
I'd love to know more about your experience with the Turbogauge...keep us updated. I don't suppose that, in Chinese knockoff cloning perfection, it has an XGauge function like the Scangauge II and it's just not documented...

Anyway, 100?F is a good start. You might be able to do better. Can you post photos of your WAI?

Here is a pic of my WAI. It's basically just 3 inch flexable duct. I cut a hole into the bottom of the air box and taped it up with heavy black duct tape. The air vent coming from the bottom of the car has been blocked with a cloth rag.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7731002...928406/sizes/z
CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 10:56 AM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianSunfire View Post
Here is a pic of my WAI. It's basically just 3 inch flexable duct. I cut a hole into the bottom of the air box and taped it up with heavy black duct tape. The air vent coming from the bottom of the car has been blocked with a cloth rag.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7731002...928406/sizes/z
If That link doesn't work try this one:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7048/6...8d2dd8ea_m.jpg
CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:12 AM   #26
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

First link is private. Second link is not very large:


So is it just the hose terminating at the manifold, or have you created any kind of additional stuff at the manifold?
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:22 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
First link is private. Second link is not very large:


So is it just the hose terminating at the manifold, or have you created any kind of additional stuff at the manifold?
Sorry about the pictures. I'm just new at the picture posting thing. Yep, so far the duct is aimed at the exhaust manifold. I don't have anything else attached as of yet.
CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:42 AM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Here is a quick look at the Turbogauge IV in my sunfire. I only have about 2 minutes of video (flickr has a time limit on vids) It gives you an idea of the interface. There is still lots more i'm trying to figure out on it.

http://flic.kr/p/byiMrD
CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:04 PM   #29
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

You shouldn't need the car running to use the Turbogauge...do you?

Ah, found a better resolution of your photo:
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:09 PM   #30
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Country: United States
Re: Hard time getting more MPG - 98' Sunfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
You shouldn't need the car running to use the Turbogauge...do you?
To view the actual rpms, loads, etc. you would need the car running, but to view trouble codes, or the avg fuel economy, or trip totals you can just turn the key to the on position. When you shut the car off the gauge stays lit up for about 15 seconds and then shuts off.

Thanks for the better view of the photo!

Stew
"CanadianSunfire"
__________________

CanadianSunfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly API, Remote Update hufman Fuelly Web Support and Community News 6 11-26-2017 11:28 AM
Inaccurate mpg? SEG388 General Fuel Topics 8 07-25-2010 02:21 AM
Keeping my distance in traffic khurt General Fuel Topics 8 09-07-2008 04:23 AM
total fuel cost for fill-up instead of price per gallon EmptyH Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-26-2008 12:14 PM
Ability to comment on Fuel Tips randomic Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-22-2008 12:25 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.