Honda Civic VX - Installing Aftermarket Cruise? - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2008, 09:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
SuperVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Country: United States
Question Honda Civic VX - Installing Aftermarket Cruise?

Hello Everyone,

Has anyone installed an Audiovox CCS-100 aftermarket cruise control system on a 92-95 Honda Civic?

If so, how did the install go?

Problems?

Tips/Tricks?

Please include photos if you can.

This modification is a big step for me. I bought the kit on amazon.com for $85.

I'm hoping to improve my highway MPG.

Thanks in advance





Aftermarket Cruise Control
(http://www.brandsplace.com/0002-ccs100.html)
__________________

__________________
.

With the money I save on gas I like to TravelThisWorld.com
SuperVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 12:52 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
I installed a CCS100 on my 87 civic DX 2 years ago and I am very happy with it.

You don't need to hook to the VSS- since you have a manual trans, the only signal the unit needs is the tach signal.

Be sure to pay attention to the length of pull that the unit has and give it enough slack so that it can't pull too hard on the throttle plate and bend something.

Give yourself a good 3 hours to track down the right wires and mount the unit and touch pad.
__________________

GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 02:19 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
SuperVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Country: United States
Thanks Erik
__________________
.

With the money I save on gas I like to TravelThisWorld.com
SuperVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 05:48 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Country: United States
I thought the Audiovox unit doesn't work on OBD and newer Hondas?
Jonathan_ED3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 05:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
As long as you can get a tach signal or a VSS signal, it will work.

I believe that the warning in the CSS100 advertisement about it not working on Hondas has to do with the unit's long stroke (pull length). My total throttle cable travel was about 1 inch and the unit would pull a total of 1.5 inches. If the CC cable was set with no slack, it could bent something as it tried to pull well beyond the throttle valve stop.
GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 05:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,027
Country: United States
Here's a similar thread:
__________________

GasSavers_Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TWO VX's on Seattle CL - yin and yang... slogfilet For Sale 0 06-19-2008 07:26 PM
What should I do? CRX pruchase! pinbrew General Fuel Topics 4 04-30-2008 03:12 AM
Is there a OBDI or OBDII conversion for older vehicles? kozaz General Fuel Topics 3 11-13-2007 08:32 PM
ICE loads basjoos Experiments, Modifications and DIY 9 11-11-2007 09:32 PM
On a trip Hockey4mnhs General Discussion (Off-Topic) 4 06-22-2007 11:46 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.