How can I improve my car's fuel economy? - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 05-07-2007, 07:41 AM   #11
Registered Member

Consumer Reports has some rolling resistance data that is a little newer, BUT it is less specific than the old greenseal stuff. Since it is CR, you have to buy a subscription or go find the issue at the library.

Old 05-07-2007, 08:58 AM   #12
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in Houston View Post
Consumer Reports has some rolling resistance data that is a little newer, BUT it is less specific than the old greenseal stuff. Since it is CR, you have to buy a subscription or go find the issue at the library.
I have an online subscription that I purchased earlier this month, but none of their online reviews include data on the Pirelli P400s; they only say that they are "Good choices for other tires" in their quick recommendations.

Doing a Google search yields the following, which says that Pirelli P400 tires have relatively high rolling resistance according to an older issue of Consumer Reports:

http://autopedia.com/bbs/tires/messages/6467.html

It does not say which one, but I guess that I can assume that the Pirelli P400s are by no means low rolling resistance tires. I will most likely be replacing my tires anyway later this year, so I am doing some research on alternative tires that I could buy to replace them.

Based on Consumer Reports' data, I am leaning towards Michelin Energy MXV4 Plus tires. I live in New York where we can get icy road conditions and a great deal of rain. Would these be a good choice?

Shining Arcanine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 09:06 AM   #13
Registered Member

Thumbs up Great Tire Choice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shining Arcanine View Post