How much do tyres deflate? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 02-26-2014, 08:45 AM   #1
Registered Member

How much do tyres deflate?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the whole idea of efficient driving, so I kind of don't have a clue. I notice that one of the top tips is to keep tyres properly inflated.

I realise that the only way to keep track of this is to actually check the pressure regularly, but I'll ask out of interest - I drive about 150 miles per week. Is there any way of guessing how much pressure tyres lose through normal use?

JK2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:58 AM   #2
Registered Member

Tires in good condition and properly mounted tend to do a good job of holding their pressure. Outside of a puncture, the only time i need to adjust the pressure is from the seasons and changing outside temperatures.

If there is something up with a tire or wheel that leads to pressure loss, there are too many variables to be able to give a loss rate. My wife's car had a tire that could drop 10psi in 2 weeks, one only a couple of psi in a month, and the other two held fine. Which reminds me that I have to check her tires.

trollbait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:08 AM   #3
Site Team / Moderator

I have a truck that hasn't been driven in 2 years, and the tire pressures are fine. Just depends on the tire.

Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 11:52 AM   #4
Registered Member

check tires twice a year at minimum, clean the rust off the rims

I've observed that normally, tires slowly lose pressure over a period of months. Some do hold air better than others-- sometimes I've not checked often enough and found all 4 tires down to 25 psi, sometimes it's 1 tire down to 25 psi while the other 3 were still in the low 30s. Then I pump them all back up to about 45 psi.