I bought a Civic today! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 06-14-2008, 02:38 PM   #1
Registered Member

I bought a Civic today!

Well me and the wife were tossing the ideal around of finding a beater car to save on gas. During the past 2 weeks my wife kept going back and forth on the ideal and then out of no where yesterday, she said just go buy a new car. So that's what I did today. I got a 2008 Civix LX sedan 5 speed. Traded off my 2003 Blazer, and the only thing I will miss about it is the 4 wheel drive in the winter, other than that, nothing. Now to start hypermiling !!!

Old 06-14-2008, 09:51 PM   #2
Registered Member

Congratulations. I bet you'll love it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourrobert13 View Post
the only thing I will miss about it is the 4 wheel drive in the winter
I've been driving in heavy snow since 1972 (not including summers!), and I think 4 really good snow tires make a very big difference (get some extra wheels). I'd rather have great tires with 2WD, as compared with average tires and 4WD.

A brand I really like is Nokian. They are harder to find, and can be expensive, but I think they are worth it for the traction.

No connection to them, just a happy customer.

But even with good tires, you have to remember that you don't have the ground clearance you are used to. Especially when the car is loaded.

monroe74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:34 AM   #3
Registered Member

Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Quote:
Originally Posted by monroe74 View Post
But even with good tires, you have to remember that you don't have the ground clearance you are used to. Especially when the car is loaded.