Looking to get better mileage from a '90 Supra - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 11-20-2007, 11:53 AM   #1
Registered Member

Looking to get better mileage from a '90 Supra

I've never cared about going fast, the only thing that matters to me is that my car be safe and be something I enjoy driving. I took a job that requires me to drive 550+ miles per week (95% is hwy miles) so I decided if I am going to be in the car that much I am going to drive something I like. In high school a friend had a new 1987 Toyota Supra I always liked so I bought one. I would like to start out by saying I have ZERO interest in driving a performance car. I drive this car because it looks good, it has a Targa roof for nice days and is a solid cruiser. Rice burners are constantly challenging me and I just wave and let them cruise by. I'm a 36 year old professional, not a teenager and racing in my daily driver holds little interest.

I used to drive as fast as I could because I hated spending so much time on the road. Then I started tracking my MPG and discovered I was getting about 19. I made a commitment to driving the speed limit and my mpg shot up to 26! I save a tank every other week just by adding 20 minutes to my daily commute.

Now I am looking for ways to go even higher.

First, I found out the car has a 4.3 rear end. It's a pretty heavy car for a two seater (3700 lbs) and the non-turbo version I have doesn't accelerate well off the line without the higher ratio. I have learned, however, that a 3.9 and a 3.73 rear end were available (the 3.9 was standard in the turbo) although the 3.73 is pretty rare. My first step will be to get a lower ratio rear end. The stock tires are 225/45VR16s, when I have to replace the rears I'll get 225/50s.

That is what I have thought of so far, I am ready to listen to almost any other suggestions. The only things I won't consider are things that mess with the appearance or interior.