Lower Octane...Less $$ more MPG! - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 06-06-2007, 12:00 PM   #1
Registered Member

Lower Octane...Less $$ more MPG!

Well...decided to ignore the octane warnings by MB (they only want "Premium") and put some 89 octane in the car on the last tank...and guess what? :-)
  • It seems to run better
  • High temp miss is less noticeable
  • I got almost 2 mpg better! (well 1.6)
  • It cost less! (I am not a rocket scientist)

So...I topped it off with 87 octane, and we will see if that introduces any pinging or knocking. (fingers crossed) If I get some pinging I will go back to 89 and let it run a bit longer to get some more definite numbers.

For now, it looks better, and I was driving harder, faster and with more A/C on and still got better MPG! http://www.gassavers.org/garage/viewgaslog/408

McIntyre's First Law: "Under the right circumstances, anything I tell you may be wrong."

O'Brien's First Corollary to McIntyre's First Law: "I don't know what the right circumstances are, either."

rvanengen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 12:07 PM   #2
*shrug*

Sweet deal! Perhaps the car has gotten too tired for high octane,

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 12:29 PM   #3
Registered Member

Never thought about it that way...but it might be! I am sure that I am tired of premium gas and premium prices!

This is certainly a reverse of my last few cars... a 97 Crown Vic Police car...and a 96 Bronco that both had a strong taste for 93 Octane...or they would ping like crazy!

McIntyre's First Law: "Under the right circumstances, anything I tell you may be wrong."

O'Brien's First Corollary to McIntyre's First Law: "I don't know what the right circumstances are, either."

Old 06-06-2007, 12:31 PM   #4
*shrug*

Have you thought about selling the MB anytime soon?
Old 06-06-2007, 12:45 PM   #5
Registered Member