Lower Wheel Weight = FE Increase? - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-17-2008, 01:59 PM   #1
Registered Member

Talking Lower Wheel Weight = FE Increase?

So here is my first post. I'm just getting into the Hypermiling gig and have a quick question. It should be an easy one for the FE guru's here. I currently own a 01 Mitsubishi Mirage with an automatic transmission. I currently get 35mpg.

The tires I am running on are already descent as far as rolling resistance goes (Sumitomo HTR 200). I was thinking about getting lighter wheels to increase my FE . There is obviosly fuel to be saved by lowering the total wheel weight....but how much?

My current steel wheels weigh in at a porky 20lbs each! I was thinking of getting some aftermarket aluminum rims that weigh 12.8lbs each.

With a savings of about 7lbs per wheel...would I notice much of a FE improvement? Are we talking like a 2mpg increase? Or would it be more like 0.2? I was wondering if anyone has first had experience with this.

If the fuel savings are that minimal, it might not be worth it for me to justify the $500 purchase.

Thanks in advance!

Mightymouse13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 02:06 PM   #2
Registered Member

If you could find some "good condition" used replacement wheels it might be worth it. I would think that $500.00 could be spent better for a better return...or just spent on fuel.

Since you have an automatic...you could invest in a beefier Torque Converter that locks up a bit earlier and holds rpm slippage to a minimum...that might be better than just lighter wheels...Good Luck

2002 Air Box Mod...Air Tabs (5) on Roof...(3)each behind rear windows
Partial Grill Block with Custom Air Scoop and 3" Open Catback Exhaust
Lambretta UNO150cc 4 Stroke Scooter

DarbyWalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 02:12 PM   #3
Registered Member

Go to www.tirerack.com. i saw some close-out wheels for $65 each in my size(185 65 14).