manual driving techniques - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Old 03-24-2010, 10:08 PM   #1
Registered Member

manual driving techniques

I just got a civic VX w/ 294k miles on it. I hear the car is able to get up to 70mpg, but this is my first car that's a manual transmission.

I will tell you that I have a lead foot but I am trying to drive the car slowly. I'm not an expert at it yet but I am still learning. Last fill up I got 36MPG, that's worst than horrible for this car.

I want to know techniques for driving this car? I don't want to know hypermiling like turning off the car and coasting. I want to know should I change gear at 2k or 3k? I shift into neutral alot but I'm unsure of what gear to shift back into at a certain speed.

Could anybody help me with this?

Thanks.

fobx530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 10:33 PM   #2
Registered Member

well what gear to go back into at X speed is gonna be all depening per car and what your doing when you downshift, either level speed or accelerating.

its just gonna be practice and gettign used to engine sounds

my truck (mind you truck VS car gearing is way different) every 10 MPH i upshift another gear

so if im going 25 id throw it in 3rd.

i shift at 2-2.5K rpm but once again thats where my engine makes the most of its torque (and lines up perfectly per every 10 MPH lol, used to not have a tachometer spedo only so got used to speed shifting)

down hills i just pop it in neutral (if you time it right with foot off the gas theres that spot where the vehicle is barely accelerating and the engine is just spooling down so theres virtually no load on the engine, i can just take it outa gear with a flip of a finger without pushing the clutch)

i coast up to red lights too (especially those particuarly long ones) same with stopsigns and yeild signs

VetteOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:04 AM   #3
Registered Member