Moving the O2 sensor - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 05:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
Moving the O2 sensor

Please stop me and point me to the correct thread if this has already been covered. My mind has been focused on increasing my mileage lately (I'm normally a speed freak kinda guy), cause I'm tired of all the money I toss down the gas tank filler.

Reading through a number of articles, I noticed some complaints about the O2 sensor reacting too slowly to changes. In some vehicles, I've noticed that the O2 sensor is mounted a good deal downstream. Why not move it more upstream? Doing so will increase its response time.

Also, having a A/F guage mounted in some of my vehicle (mostly just to make sure I'm not running lean under high boost conditions), I've noticed that as the O2 sensor gets older, it also reacts more slowly. So maybe that factory recommended 30k miles isn't such a bad idea after all.

Any thoughts or comments?
__________________

__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:26 PM   #2
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Re: Moving the O2 sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunger
Please stop me and point me to the correct thread if this has already been covered. My mind has been focused on increasing my mileage lately (I'm normally a speed freak kinda guy), cause I'm tired of all the money I toss down the gas tank filler.

Reading through a number of articles, I noticed some complaints about the O2 sensor reacting too slowly to changes. In some vehicles, I've noticed that the O2 sensor is mounted a good deal downstream. Why not move it more upstream? Doing so will increase its response time.

Also, having a A/F guage mounted in some of my vehicle (mostly just to make sure I'm not running lean under high boost conditions), I've noticed that as the O2 sensor gets older, it also reacts more slowly. So maybe that factory recommended 30k miles isn't such a bad idea after all.

Any thoughts or comments?
I think it's a good idea. Honda did this with all of their high gas mileage vehicles. On the Civic VX, CX, HX, STD, and some of the CRX HFs, the exhaust manifold is made in such a way that the o2 sensor reads the exhaust right away. On the other cars it is about a foot down the pipe.

I'm wondering if it is not a bad idea to swap the exhaust manifold (along with a new o2 sensor) to one that is closer to the head.
__________________

Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Compaq888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,460
Country: United States
also there are different

also there are different types of o2 sensors. There are narrowbands and widebands. Widebands are really good.
__________________

Compaq888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:50 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
True, but unless you build a

True, but unless you build a board that converts the wideband voltage range to the desired narrow band, you're not going to be able to easily use the stock ECU. While moving the O2 sensor farth upstream will do nothing but increase the ECU's ability to better control the fuel, assuming the CPU in that ecu is fast enough.
__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
Though I should note, some

Though I should note, some ECUs do use a wibeband O2 sensor, such as the 92-95 Honda VX.
__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:56 PM   #6
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Are you not equipped with

Are you not equipped with wideband?
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:14 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
Re: Are you not equipped with

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
Are you not equipped with wideband?
I have the stock wideband in the VX motor and then an "aftermarket" wieband I use for tuning in my other cars. But under normal operating conditions, the B18c and the Volvo use a narrowband O2.
__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:18 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Ah, well, I forgot about

Ah, well, I forgot about those other cars, cuz they suck I guess. But good to here you're using the wideband with the z1,

What wideband do you tune with?
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:30 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
I tune mostly with the

I tune mostly with the Innovate LM-1 system, but I've also used some home-brew VX and VW based wideband systems.

I really wish my Volvo got better mileage, but I can never seem to get better than 12-13 MPG cruising at 130mph.
__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:34 PM   #10
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:I've also used some

Quote:
I've also used some home-brew VX and VW based wideband systems.
I noticed someone trying to use the vx ecu as a controller way back, is this what you mean?

Quote:
I really wish my Volvo got better mileage, but I can never seem to get better than 12-13 MPG cruising at 130mph.
No need to be cute.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odometer help/suggestion waterboysh Fuelly Web Support and Community News 10 12-14-2012 04:38 PM
Conversion successful Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 12 05-18-2006 03:24 PM
If this don't get you pulled over then I don't know what will. (PICS) Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 13 04-12-2006 09:53 AM
Electric panel heaters GasSavers_JustMe General Discussion (Off-Topic) 0 01-03-2006 04:43 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.