O2 Sensor - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 06:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
civic lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
Country: United States
O2 Sensor

I bought one of the Walker O2 sensors on ebay. After 425 miles I received an error code p1164 (Primary HO2S (No. 1) Circuit Range/Performance).

What does this mean? Bad sensor? Should I get a genuine L1H1?

Would it matter that I have a header on and am running the O2 sensor just behind the engine versus that standard location with an oem exhaust manifold?
__________________

civic lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 07:19 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Danronian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 652
Country: United States
Yes, you need an authentic one.
__________________

__________________


On the never-ending quest for better gas mileage...
Danronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 07:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
guest001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 198
Country: United States
Maybe you installed it wrong, or a wire came loose or etc. wiring issues.

could be a faulty sensor. It doesn't have to be an authentic one. people use aftermarket parts, including myself, all the time. schucks, autozone, etc wouldn't be in business.
guest001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:51 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Country: United States
You should contact the seller. Maybe he could replace it for you, it wouldn't hurt to try. I've used universal 02 sensors on Fords without any problems.
__________________
Hipermiler
#47 on my way to #1
Ford Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Country: United States
i just got the same o2 and i get the same cel as the op. only drove it for 30 or so minutes after resetting cel and installing new o2.
reallyslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 72
Country: United States
Location: Littleton, CO
I've used the cheapest sensor I could find at the time, I think it was $120 or so and have over 11k on it and it still works perfectly. I think its hit or miss with them. I have a theory though. I'm wondering if the resistor built into the plug has to match something in the ecu, in other words does the sensor have to be calibrated to work correctly? There is a tolerance built into resistors and that could also make a difference? (note all the question marks - I'm guessing here) Does anybody feel like checking the actual resistance of their resistors and posting? Maybe they're all the same and I'm on crack, but if we find differences between them, it MIGHT account for why some people are not having problems and others are? I just measured mine and it reads 29.97k ohms. Anybody with a vx PLEASE measure your O2 resistor value and post up. At the very least, those of you having problems might want to compare the resistance of your old sensor and compare it to the new one.
nowhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:03 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
civic lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
Country: United States
How would you go about testing it? I could test my sensor that is bad.
civic lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:45 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 72
Country: United States
Location: Littleton, CO
If you unplug your O2 sensor, you'll see that there is a small resistor built into the connector on the sensor side. Measure the resistance of that resistor.
nowhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:00 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by nowhhs View Post
If you unplug your O2 sensor, you'll see that there is a small resistor built into the connector on the sensor side. Measure the resistance of that resistor.
i went to look at my o2 and it only have 5 but the chassis harness has 7 wires? is the resistor in the plug itself?
reallyslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:27 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 72
Country: United States
Location: Littleton, CO
It is. The 2 extra wires that are in the harness connect through the plug to the resistor. Ohm out the pins that don't have any wires attached to them to the O2 sensor.
__________________

nowhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HAI - what's the best temp? Project84 General Fuel Topics 42 07-23-2008 05:06 AM
Honda Civic-4 door bowtieguy Car Reviews 18 01-23-2008 02:37 PM
Conversion successful Matt Timion Fuelly Web Support and Community News 12 05-18-2006 03:24 PM
Electric panel heaters GasSavers_JustMe General Discussion (Off-Topic) 0 01-03-2006 04:43 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.