Official Thread for posting daily FE updates - Page 143 - Fuelly Forums

Click here to see important news regarding the aCar App

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Today's Posts Search Click Here to Login

Old 02-09-2007, 06:00 AM   #1421
Semi-retired OPEC Buster

mileage going up

I am a newbie, and have some news to report on my last tank, which would be the first official tank since signing up with gassavers.

Since reading though alot of threads I have started experimenting with engine off coasting. Wow what fun.

Last night I drove up the mountain pass for some night skiing. Before I left my tank was 1/4 full and the trip is 190 miles. Generally I would fill the tank. But last night I put my new knowledge to the test. Using a new found route (slower - less traffic - hills to coast) and armed with engine off coasting I head out. I note each fuel station carefully this time thinking I would have to stop on the way home in the middle of the night. But in the darkness and on a empty highway I coast like a madman and get all the way home, and the low fuel light does not even show!!! I fill up and note a 32 mpg tank. One of the this cars best tanks ever!!! What fun!!

BeeUU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:04 AM   #1422
Supporting Member

BeeUU -

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeUU View Post
I am a newbie, and have some news to report on my last tank, which would be the first official tank since signing up with gassavers.

Since reading though alot of threads I have started experimenting with engine off coasting. Wow what fun.