Ping Sming and bad gas - Fuelly Forums
Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2006, 06:57 PM   #1
Supporting Member
lovemysan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 595
Country: United States
Ping Sming and bad gas

Filled up the tank yesterday, 8 gallons at a phillips 66. I pulled in the station and noticed 4 nozzles at each pump. No diesel though. I thought it odd. One was some type of mixed gas it had a label that I didn't read. So I selected 87oct and filled up. 20 minutes later the car starts pinging like a 84 subaru. It was most certainly caused by the gas. I removed the 110 ohm resistor and it went away for the most part(woot this thing has more power than hemi now).

So what happened, did I get some funny gas blend? It annoys me that you can't tell how crummy certain fuels are until you pay for them.

02 Saturn SL
5 speed
for pics click the link below

"for best mileage swap in a d15z1"
lovemysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 04:47 AM   #2
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
I heard on the radio yesterday that gas companies are beginning to switch to winter blend already...could this be the cluprit?

GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 05:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
kickflipjr's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 933
Country: United States
was it Ethanol. E10 ussually comes in 89 octane so I don't know.
2008 EPA adjusted:

Distance traveled by bicycle in 2007= 1,830ish miles
Average commute speed=25mph (yes, that's in a car)
kickflipjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 08:11 AM   #4
Registered Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 331
Country: United States
Send a message via MSN to n0rt0npr0
Even if the gas companies are beginning to switch, theres a 6 week window for the first drop of winterblend to hit the consumer gas stations.

And ethanol does separate out of gasoline...ethanol is some of the octane prolly got like 85 octane fuel running through your system. It's okay, your computer will adapt around it.

I've had it happen to me too. I was really really good at getting the same fuel for 1000miles then I switched and kinda shocked the computer out of its extra fine tune. It pinged and pinged, I finally had to reset the computer only because mine is so slow and stubborn to adapt.
"You have to know the truth, and seek the truth, and the truth will set you free."
n0rt0npr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 08:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
JanGeo's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Maybe you got some E85 instead of E10 - better go back there and see what it was before you do some fuel system damage.
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.