Post your shift points - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2006, 07:38 PM   #1
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Post your shift points

Where do you shift during standard driving/hypermiling/wailing?

To 2nd 3rd 4th 5th
2000 1500 1500 1250
2000 1500 1500 1250
5500 ...... ....... ......

I don't wail on it too hard because of the motor mount, so yeah, I'd like to feel the pull when that's on. Anyway, 2nd ends at 74mph so it'll be hard to really figure that chart out,

Just thought I'd post since I'm excited about the new tranny.
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 08:30 PM   #2
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
1st.. 2nd.. 3rd.. 4th
4000 4500 3500 skipped 4th standard driving
2600 2800 2900 2800 weak sauce driving
7200 7200 7200 7000 yippy skippy driving

there is no rhym or reason to the points, thats just how i noticed i do it.
ive noticed in normal driving i skip 4th a lot so naturally there is no shift point from 4th
when im wailing on it at the top of 4th i tend to shift early just because i dont feel too comfortable having the engine under full load for long at such high rpms.
__________________

__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 08:32 PM   #3
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I always skip forth in my mom's car but do not in this car, keeping the revs down and all that,
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:31 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
philmcneal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 333
Country: Canada
1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th
2500, 2500, 2000, 2000, 1500. I just want to accelerate.
2000, 2300, 2000, 2000, 1500, I have time to blow.
__________________
If your reading this, then good for you, your saving some gas because your here.
philmcneal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 05:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 682
Country: United States
I'd love to post my truck's shift points, but I have an automatic tranny. I wish the thing would go into 5th at 40 mph, but it just refuses to do so, no matter how much I feather the throttle.

I have to get to about 48 mph to get into 5th and have the torque conveter lock up. You can see the mileage effects on the Scangage. Despite going faster, the truck's mileage improves between 45 to 50 mph.

My next truck will have a manual. I can't wait to get rid of this Ford P.O.S.
__________________
Capitalism: The cream rises. Socialism: The scum rises.
Sludgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 06:13 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
JanGeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,442
Country: United States
Send a message via Yahoo to JanGeo
Should be an adjustment for those shift points on that Ford Truck automatic.

Throttle is really responsive when upshifting at 3000, revs drops to 2000 in the next gear, any higher revs requires more gas pedal to increase revs, max torque is 4200rpm

typical 1500 - 2000 upshift

really slow acceleration in light traffice 1000-1200 in each gear with light throttle

10 degree hill in 5th at 30mph is 1550rpm and is about as steep as that gear can handle with a light load in the xB - any extra weight or a full gas tank and I loose speed and downshift to 4th or 3rd

Idle in first gear is 650-700rpm = 3 mph
JanGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 10:32 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 682
Country: United States
JanGeo said:

"Should be an adjustment for those shift points on that Ford Truck automatic."

I found diesel programmers that are set up for efficiency. Most just dump more fuel into the truck at low revs, and advance the injection. The engines make more black smoke after these mods. One (Edge Performance) also claims to let you alter the shift points (at WOT) and hydraulic oil (clutch) pressure without touching the engine programming.

I haven't parted with any cash for a programmer chip because I have a 100k mile warranty. Ford gave out an exteneded warranty because the 6.0 diesel engine has a ton of problems. I know this to be true. I've already had my EGR and EBV replaced under warranty, and I'm waiting for the next repair. At 37k miles now, I have 73k miles to go before I consider any aftermarket part.

In addition, at my last inspection, the dealer told me that my left ball joints were about to go. The truck passed anyway without changing the ball joints. This truck has seen very light duty most of the time, although it is a (non-commercial) plow truck. You'd think Ford would step up and replace ball joints only 1000 miles out of warranty. But no.

Ford could step up to the plate and reprogram my transmission, but I doubt it. I've written to Ford and had it to the dealer on several occasions about the mileage and they say 15 mpg city and 20 highway is better than most people get.

I'm going back to GM trucks as soon as I can.
__________________
Capitalism: The cream rises. Socialism: The scum rises.
Sludgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 11:11 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
psyshack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 443
Country: United States
varoooooommmm, clunk/clunk, varoooooommmmm, clunk/clunk, varooooooommmmm, clunk/clunk, and so on.
__________________
09 HCHII, w/Navi
07 Mazda3 S Touring, 5MT
Mild Hypermiler or Mad Man?
psyshack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 12:04 PM   #9
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyshack
varoooooommmm, clunk/clunk, varoooooommmmm, clunk/clunk, varooooooommmmm, clunk/clunk, and so on.
ROFL
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 01:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
I can't play this game, because I have no tach. Well, I have the ScanGauge, but waching a digital/numerical tach is silly.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPG is incorrect? stinger94 Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-30-2012 04:37 AM
Location per vehicle, not per user account swgn Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 02-28-2011 08:45 PM
Batch Import? somedirection Fuelly Web Support and Community News 5 08-08-2008 08:25 AM
Really interesting read... Compaq888 General Fuel Topics 0 02-07-2006 04:59 AM
What does a coil do? Matt Timion General Maintenance and Repair 5 11-28-2005 08:56 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.