Potential problem with my new engine/transmission in my civic - Page 3 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 08:07 PM   #21
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Give to give you an idea of what I'm dealing with, I can't shift into second until I'm at LEAST at 3000rpm. When I shift into second it drops down to 1400RPM and starts to bog a little.
This sounds like my HF's gearing. Glad you got the plug wires in the right order though!
__________________

GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 08:59 PM   #22
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Randy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 98
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
I always just put my dizzy somewhere random. If I recall correctly it doesn't change the timing unless the service connector is jumpered when you change it, that could be BS though.
Nope, it has all the timing hardware in it. The computer has no idea where the pistons are, just where the dizzy is. The jumpering part just sets the timing advance so you can adjust it properly.
__________________

GasSavers_Randy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 09:01 PM   #23
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Ah, thanks for the clarification. Iono anything,
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 06:17 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
kickflipjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 933
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Timion
Okay, I figured it out *hits head*

I had spark plug wire #2 and #3 switched around... fixed it and it ran like a charm.

Now i just need to lower the idle and get the hood to close.
D'oh. I did the smae thing once.
__________________
2008 EPA adjusted:


Distance traveled by bicycle in 2007= 1,830ish miles
Average commute speed=25mph (yes, that's in a car)
kickflipjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 10:11 AM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
Matt: Did you use a timing light to set the distributor position. If it is still wherever you just tightened it dcwn, you should get a timing light and set it. If you don't have one, I believe you can borrow one from Autozone or Pepboy's. It will also make a difference, in addition to having the 2 wires switched.
Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:07 PM   #26
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Palmer
Matt: Did you use a timing light to set the distributor position. If it is still wherever you just tightened it dcwn, you should get a timing light and set it. If you don't have one, I believe you can borrow one from Autozone or Pepboy's. It will also make a difference, in addition to having the 2 wires switched.
I havn't done this yet, but I plan on doing so today or tomorrow.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:15 PM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
So, now that you have the wire's straightened out, how does it run?

It is amazing to me that it would run well enough to even get out of the driveway.
Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:28 PM   #28
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
i told matt the same thing. when i did the tranny swap with frank we screwed up the firing order and at first i thought it threw the flywheel off it was banging around so horribly trying to start.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:51 PM   #29
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Palmer
So, now that you have the wire's straightened out, how does it run?

It is amazing to me that it would run well enough to even get out of the driveway.
Oh, it runs AMAZING now.

I'm actually surprised it ran at all with only cylinders 1 and 4 hooked up correctly.... that explains the shaking.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #30
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
Funny. In the last 3 or 4 "help!" threads about car trouble (including mine), the problems have been caused by the owner, directly or indirectly.
__________________

MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new link for Mobile after submit Pontiac Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 02-07-2009 05:48 AM
I hear crickets GasSavers_davens General Fuel Topics 18 07-24-2006 08:01 PM
The Honda Fit GasSavers_DaX General Fuel Topics 54 05-13-2006 01:52 AM
Sticker Shock -- Inefficient New Furnace rh77 General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 01-25-2006 07:15 AM
What do you think of this layout? Matt Timion General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 11-22-2005 08:39 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.