Project: KDA (Engine and Auto to Manual Swap) - Page 38 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 10:38 AM   #371
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 675
Country: United States
I don't know if you might have a choice, but one thing to keep in mind is that the Honda valve spring's are pretty small, compared to V8's and such. My spring compressor handle's the larger spring's, but it is a bit challenging on the smaller Honda one's. I have to use a large C clamp, to hold the two tines into the springs, while I compress the spring, or the tines just slip off, because of the angle's.
__________________

Gary Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:45 AM   #372
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I have a good idea of the size now so I think I should be fine, the picture online looks exactly like the picture in the manual, so we'll hope it's the same size, too,
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 05:20 PM   #373
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Thought for a moment they would fit well, but unfortunately, they aren't too big, I guess they're going back to sears on wednesday.

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 10:01 PM   #374
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Should be getting some good valve spring compressors tomorrow and I ought to be ready to do this pretty soon.

Anyway, something else that will be included in this project is removing my radio antenna and installing a block off plate for decreased drag!
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 02:06 PM   #375
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Well, I've had some setbacks and some schmetbacks, still waiting on valve spring compressors, and in fact, mehbe just getting a whole damn engine or seeing if I can find a d15z1 for 150 bucks (at the high end). Also looking at at d16y5 head as a possibility...

Anyway, did some crap today, have some questions.


Finally finished painting the rims:
My ugly engine bay:

New vs old valve cover. I spent enough on damn gaskets so I figure I'll get them on there.

My head is so clean, almost a shame to killllll it.

New valve cover on.

There's no hole for the second part of the ground there, what should I do!?!?

That's the old hole!!!




Any advice for the ground situation?
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 09:31 PM   #376
Driving on E
 
Matt Timion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,110
Country: United States
Eh, ground it to the bolt on the exhaust manifold.
Matt Timion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 09:37 PM   #377
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
It's not long enough, most h-t said to snip it so I just but it with the other one instead, I'm sure it'll be fine, I guess.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:59 PM   #378
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Old valve cover is going on and it'll be regrounded, my battery (and thus my lights) died in the throws of a very dark, bad thunderstorm (which sprung up as I was exhaust testing). So I'm just a little angry right now...

EDIT: I forgot to mention that even though my numbers have been much better this tank the gauge is screwing with my head, mehbe it got underfilled last time, Iono, we'll see, I guess,

EDIT2: And now that I think about it I have no idea why that ground would allow my battery to drain, but I sure as hell hope that's what it is, and I feel like I have a vacuum leak, but who know, because it's pouring outside and I can't do anything.

EDIT3: The only other thing I changed was that I extended the wires on my purge solenoid changed the plug so that I could use the one on my intake manifold.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:47 PM   #379
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Well, the way it acted was that it gradually lost charge until it no longer had charge. I just went out and started it and it seemed fine and everything was full power, but as I left it idling the battery light slowly came on, I checked the alternator belt and it was fine. I extended those wires, did the valve cover, and removed the holder for the old solenoid from the firewall. I had my vss ground to it through the bolt to the firewall, so I just put the wire inbetween the bolt and the firewall to leave it grounded, could that be the cause? I'm just going to put everything back exactly the way it was tomorrow, I guess.
But, now that I remember I drove the car earlier in the day after the changes and had no issues. I dunno now,
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 08:05 PM   #380
Registered Member
 
Bunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 311
Country: United States
Whats the voltage at the battery with the car running and the car not running?
__________________

__________________
Anger is a gift!
- Zack de la Rocha
Bunger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethanol pianoeck General Fuel Topics 5 05-25-2010 02:01 AM
total fuel cost for fill-up instead of price per gallon EmptyH Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-26-2008 12:14 PM
It's Bunger Bunger Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 15 03-02-2006 07:20 PM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.