Project: KDA (Engine and Auto to Manual Swap) - Page 6 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2006, 11:06 PM   #51
Registered Member
 
ahks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Country: United States
i should post up some pic's of the cx engine i have on my engine stand funny thing... i unexpectedly grabbed all the parts for an almost identical build as his

92 cx block/head HF Cam
HF Trans

gonna rebuild this engine
re-ring
bearings
gaskets
cylinder hone

all i need is the chunk of wiring harness from ecu to engine bay and i wont even have to make a conversion harness
__________________

ahks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 11:44 PM   #52
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_Diemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 163
Country: United States
Talking

u bought a EG manual. i had one U COULD HAVE GOTTEN FOR FREE!!! *insert feeling like a jackass here* :P
__________________

__________________
I ♥ my EM2


Need this stuff gone!
http://www.honda-tech.com/zero...67053[/B]
GasSavers_Diemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 02:21 AM   #53
Registered Member
 
philmcneal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 333
Country: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by krousdb
My engine is never at idle. It is either under load or it is off.
interesting.... if its not too late SVOBOY happy burfday to you to. Sounds like a swap is such a good present as well as the knowledge.

one more thing, i wish i had a lighter flywheel, my revs take too long to drop since I don't let the sycros do any work.
__________________
If your reading this, then good for you, your saving some gas because your here.
philmcneal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 05:41 AM   #54
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diemaster
u bought a EG manual. i had one U COULD HAVE GOTTEN FOR FREE!!! *insert feeling like a jackass here* :P
Darn!

Philllllllllllllllllll: You can prolly get a lighter flywheel if you wish it.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 06:03 AM   #55
Registered Member
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,223
Country: United States
is it necessarily the flywheel? i have heard that the ECU limits rapid (non-load) RPM drops as an emissions control measure. sorry i can't point to a source - just some hearsay.
MetroMPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 10:29 AM   #56
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
is it necessarily the flywheel? i have heard that the ECU limits rapid (non-load) RPM drops as an emissions control measure. sorry i can't point to a source - just some hearsay.
this could be true, but but a few of my friends have lightened flywheels and you can feel the difference while shifting up and down. heel toe is much easier and also shifting up is faster.

i dont see how rapid drops in rpm would be bad for emmisions...
__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:28 PM   #57
Registered Member
 
philmcneal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 333
Country: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
Darn!

Philllllllllllllllllll: You can prolly get a lighter flywheel if you wish it.
kak what can I do with a flywheel if i can't do my own oil change :P

wee roll it on the street maybe it can teach me something or two about coasting!

^^ i thought only electronic throttle position (like 8th gen civics) do that hmmmm interesting.
__________________
If your reading this, then good for you, your saving some gas because your here.
philmcneal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:45 PM   #58
FE nut
 
diamondlarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,020
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetroMPG
is it necessarily the flywheel? i have heard that the ECU limits rapid (non-load) RPM drops as an emissions control measure. sorry i can't point to a source - just some hearsay.
My Saturn seems to do something like this. If I'm moving at all while the engine is running, my idle speed is around 1200rpm's. When I come to a complete stop, the idle drops to it's normal 550 rpm's.
__________________
Horsepower is how hard you hit the wall, torque is how much of the wall you take with you.

2007 Prius,



Team Slow Burn
diamondlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:48 PM   #59
Moderator
 
GasSavers_DaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,209
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by philmcneal
^^ i thought only electronic throttle position (like 8th gen civics) do that hmmmm interesting.
I know my 1988 Civic idles at about 1200 until I come to a complete stop, like Larry said.
GasSavers_DaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 02:12 PM   #60
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Got my timing belt and water pump today, I couldn't double use my rewards card cuz of one day, but meh,
__________________

SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethanol pianoeck General Fuel Topics 5 05-25-2010 02:01 AM
total fuel cost for fill-up instead of price per gallon EmptyH Fuelly Web Support and Community News 1 08-26-2008 12:14 PM
It's Bunger Bunger Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 15 03-02-2006 07:20 PM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.