Scan Gauge ? DTE - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2008, 12:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Otistheminivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Country: United States
Scan Gauge ? DTE

One of the tech's I work with has a malfunctioning gas gauge. I know the Scan gauge will do distance to empty. To get this to work do you have to fill the car full each time or can you just enter the gal you put in the tank.

John
__________________

Otistheminivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 12:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Country: United States
The SG estimates fuel usage by using the airflow sensors. Once calibrated, it can be pretty close, but not exact. You'll have to fill up, set the SG, burn through a tank, fill again, calibrate the SG, and repeat as necessary to get the SG to read gallons used as close as possible to the gallons need to fill.

It could work, but it would probably be easier to get a new gas gauge.
__________________

Skwyre7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 11:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 336
Country: United States
how many miles does he get per tank?

if lets say he gets 400 miles per tank when the nozzle clicks, then have him fill up once it hits 350 miles on the trip odo, just to be safe. then reset the trip odo every time he fills up.

this idea is cheapest way, no buying a scanguage or a guage cluster/needle
civic94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 05:57 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
skewbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 771
Country: United States
The scangauge DTE would be a lot more accurate (once it is calibrated after a few fillups) than the trip odometer alone. The scangauge would also be incredibly easy to install, far more so than a fuel gauge, and it come with a lot of other gauges/goodies (instant and trip MPG, obd scanner, multiple trips, air/water/rpm/load/etc./etc.).

But it is upwards of $160 on the downside.
__________________
Standard Disclaimer
skewbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:08 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Otistheminivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Country: United States
Guys thanks for all the reponses. Let me first say our part cost on the sender assembly is $138 bucks. Labor is free we do this for a living. The problem is that he doesnt fill it up every time. He does do 400+ miles a wk, but might not completly fill based on how his money situation is. He thought if the SG2 would have the ability to just add a specific number of gallons instead of having to completly fill.

John
Otistheminivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
link to mpg calculator CarNutCertified General Fuel Topics 2 05-22-2007 06:41 AM
Buying a Helmet SVOboy Motorcycles 4 04-23-2007 01:44 PM
Why is AT less efficient? caprice Transmissions and Running Gear 28 03-23-2007 12:58 PM
too much Snow Hockey4mnhs General Discussion (Off-Topic) 8 03-02-2007 05:46 PM
99 civic ex (hello) requiem Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 6 02-06-2007 08:38 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.