Scan Gauge Fuel Error Correction - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2007, 12:24 PM   #1
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Scan Gauge Fuel Error Correction

OK guys I filled up my Strawberry today at the same gas station, facing the same direction, and using the same pump that I used in my last fill up. According to the scan gauge I had 1.5 gallons left in the tank with an average of 17.5 mpg. The analog gauge showed the tank at 1/4 tank. So I filled the van up and to my surprise it filled up at 15.036 gallons. I entered the info in the scan gauge and it was -19.4% off. When I first put the SG2 in the van I set the engine size to 3.3L, gasoline, and 20 gallon tank. Is this normal?
__________________

__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 12:40 PM   #2
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by popimp View Post
OK guys I filled up my Strawberry today at the same gas station, facing the same direction, and using the same pump that I used in my last fill up. According to the scan gauge I had 1.5 gallons left in the tank with an average of 17.5 mpg. The analog gauge showed the tank at 1/4 tank. So I filled the van up and to my surprise it filled up at 15.036 gallons. I entered the info in the scan gauge and it was -19.4% off. When I first put the SG2 in the van I set the engine size to 3.3L, gasoline, and 20 gallon tank. Is this normal?
Normal I suppose. I'm at a 4.6% correction. Last fill-up, the car's low gas light came on at just about empty (1.5 gallons left). SG2 reported 0.9 gallon remaining, 11.1 gallons used out of 12. A 0.6 gallon variance. I got 10.6 gallons into the tank. In my case the car's idiot light was off by just 0.1 gallon. I had driven on a mile and a half since the light came on to get to the gas station.

My guess is the accuracy is not as close in a vehicle with a larger tank. More air at the top of the larger, almost twice my capacity (wider?) tank causing the large variance?
__________________

davidjh72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 12:43 PM   #3
...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Country: United States
Yes I had an error correction of just less than 4% iirc on my first fillup .They've been closer to spot on since .
MnFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 12:48 PM   #4
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Well the good thing is that my actual calculated gas mileage for that tank was almost 22mpg. I just hope it was a SG2 error and not an error at the pump.
__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 12:49 PM   #5
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Does 19% seem too high? You're ranges were less than 5%. I guess we'll have to wait and see.
__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 12:57 PM   #6
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by popimp View Post
OK guys I filled up my Strawberry today at the same gas station, facing the same direction, and using the same pump that I used in my last fill up. According to the scan gauge I had 1.5 gallons left in the tank with an average of 17.5 mpg. The analog gauge showed the tank at 1/4 tank. So I filled the van up and to my surprise it filled up at 15.036 gallons. I entered the info in the scan gauge and it was -19.4% off. When I first put the SG2 in the van I set the engine size to 3.3L, gasoline, and 20 gallon tank. Is this normal?
1/4 a 20 gallon tank would be 5 gallons. You put in 15 gallons. I'd say the car's gauge was spot-on. Maybe SG will be more accurate through the current tank with the correction factor. You may find that the correction factor drops little by little at the next few fill-ups.

I've had a correction as high as 13%. YFUMV.... Your Full-Ups May Vary?
davidjh72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 01:00 PM   #7
...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Country: United States
Did you by chance remember to 'save' your tank/engine input ? On Linear Logics' FAQ that was one of the points made, as it will revert to default settings otherwise - wouldn't hurt to double check (It does happen often )
MnFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 01:02 PM   #8
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
MnFocus I sure did. I checked at the gas station just to be sure. I have it set at 3.3 engine, 20 gallon tank, gasoline.
__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 01:05 PM   #9
...
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Country: United States
Well I'd say give it a fill up or two - if it doesn't get closer then contact Linear Logic . Wouldn't worry about it until then . Just do the error corrections as needed and let it learn .
MnFocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 01:18 PM   #10
Stay true to the Game!
 
popimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Will do. Thanks
__________________

__________________


popimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
epa estimates cseverens Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 06-09-2010 04:48 AM
Incorrect Milage Calcuatlion PatM Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 07-17-2009 08:21 PM
Missing Fuelup jmonty Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 05-27-2009 05:10 AM
All Licensed Drivers terrapin Fuelly Web Support and Community News 0 08-07-2008 10:49 AM
"active" aero grille slats on 06 civic concept MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 21 01-03-2006 01:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.