ScanGauge Questions..mine came in the mail today - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Go Back   Fuelly Forums > Fuel Talk > General Fuel Topics
Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2010, 04:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_FordF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Country: United States
ScanGauge Questions..mine came in the mail today

Okay so my ScanGauge showed up in the mail today and I plugged it into my truck after turning the truck on and....nothing, notta, zip, ziltch.
So I plugged it into my wife's car. Seemed to go acording to the diagrams after 20 seconds or so it went to the home screen. I set it up as best I could for her car and drove it on the hwy and then into town.
Just checking to see if this is the norm.
The MPG gauage was jumping from as low as 7 to as high as 57 and everywhere inbetween the entire trip.
Except for when I put the cruise on on EXACTLY flat long distances it was up and down every few seconds.
Is this the way they usually are? Even a slight hill up or down made a significant change on the MPG guage.
Also any helps with why it isn't working on my 2003 Ford F150 4x4?
I tried it several times waiting and waiting and waiting, but eventually (2-3 minutes later) just shuts itself off to nothing on the screen everytime.
__________________

GasSavers_FordF150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Instant MPG readings, whether from a Scangauge or an OEM display that came built-in to a car, vary from single digits to over 100mpg during normal driving. That's true in small and large vehicles alike. Trip and tank averages are more useful.

It sounds like there is something wrong with your truck's OBDII connector.
__________________

__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:45 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
VetteOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,546
Country: United States
did any ever need additional power? or are all OBDII conectors powered thru it?

(some OBD1 need power from like the cigarette lighter to work when u hook it to a scanner...)
VetteOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 04:47 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_FordF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Country: United States
No other wires except through the OBDII port
GasSavers_FordF150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 05:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Fuse Check.
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 05:31 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
I thought fuse too, but "I tried it several times waiting and waiting and waiting, but eventually (2-3 minutes later) just shuts itself off to nothing on the screen everytime" tells me that it powers on in the truck if the button is pressed, so it's getting power at the OBDII port.

I suppose there could be a separate fuse for the signal going to the OBDII port.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 05:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 64
Country: United States
Won't it come on w/o being plugged into the OBD port if you hit a button? I really can't remember...
__________________
Bubba Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 05:56 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
No, it doesn't have a battery.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 06:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
FrugalFloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 383
Country: United States
Location: Bay Area, CA
You have to crank the engine over on some cars to get the car to communicate with the ScanGauge. Once it's communicating, you can shut the engine off, then turn the ignition switch back to the "on" position, and it should stay communicating during setup.
FrugalFloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 07:25 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
Sentra SE-R, I second that

plug it in and drive down the road. maybe let a buddy drive and you can play with it.

once you get everything straight with it, set up an X-gauge to show trip-MPG. this will reset after your ignition is off for more than 3 minutes (or there abouts) this gives you a running average of a particular run like for example your trip to work.

another small note: when you do get it working in your truck, there is a calibration procedure. this is very important. put in your displacement and follow the instructions for the offset (it's all in the cheesy manual)
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy or not, I am here.. 1=2 Introduce Yourself - New member Welcome 4 06-26-2009 04:34 AM
Someone scratched up my car!!! AMX General Discussion (Off-Topic) 2 06-07-2008 12:43 PM
FE diference with belt fan or electric GasSavers_pcp Diesels 1 05-28-2008 12:04 PM
Wrecked my Cavalier today Aalok General Discussion (Off-Topic) 5 04-12-2008 08:23 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.