scanguage accuracy - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2009, 03:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Country: United States
scanguage accuracy

I calculate my last 4 fillups. They range between 31.5-32.5 (80% highway)

How I calculate?
When I fill up my gas I reset the odometer an divide by how much gas I have to put in before the gas pump stops pouring ( I always use the same gas station). Anyway I get about the same 32 mpg, so my method of calculation is pretty decent (nothing is perfect).

I drive 25 miles each way. Today (first time using) scanguage II is giving me an average of 25 mpg (90% highway). This must off by atleast 6 mpg. I understand it gets it information from the sensors which is not 100% accurate.

Anyway my main reason for getting the scanguage is to see @ which speed do I get the best MPG on a level highway. Inaccuracy isn't as important as consistancy, hopefully I'll be able to see what consistant speed do I get the best MPG. So far the best steadiest (more than 10 seconds) mpg @ highway speed reading is 27-29 mpg.
__________________

mxl180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 03:45 PM   #2
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
Have you properly set & calibrated your scangauge, and do you enter your fuel fillups into it?

There are settings to calibrate the speed reading, engine size, tank size, and when you fillup you can modify the value of fuel it thinks its used so it can calculate a variance for your vehicle.

-Jay
__________________

__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
bowtieguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,873
Country: United States
Location: orlando, florida
your SGII directions dictate that it must be calibrated. on your next fill-up, adjust the gallons used screen, then it should be more accurate.

edit: looks like Jay just beat me to the response.
bowtieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 05:20 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
I've found that even with calibration, I'm still not confident in my SG as an accurate measure of FE. It's generally off by 1mpg. Granted, that's less than 3%...

Anyway, it does seem consistent enough to do the job of helping me compare. It also does all its other jobs, like telling me that my IAT is up pretty decently high with my grille block.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 07:02 PM   #5
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I think its almost impossible to get the MPG readings 100% correct with a SG, but you can get it within 1 or 2 MPG.
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 09:06 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Country: United States
thanks..i'll calibrate.
mxl180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:20 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
don't forget to input motor size too. I know it is in the procedure but that one really bit me.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 05:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
palemelanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 364
Country: United States
It's incredibly accurate for me. My last fillup was SG 12.01 gal, pump 12.00. The one before that was SG 12.62, pump 12.60.
palemelanesian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 06:11 AM   #9
Site Team / Moderator
 
Jay2TheRescue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,657
Country: United States
Location: Northern Virginia
I think you can calibrate it to within a couple of %. Being as I have a 5.7L engine in my vehicle, and a fillup can be as much as 26 gallons I have a larger margin of error.

-Jay
__________________






Jay2TheRescue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 07:08 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
my accuracy isn't so great but it doesn't pick up my DFCO and the amount that I do that isn't consistant enough for an offset to work.

still good enough for me.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggested improvement to distribution graphic cmumford Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 03-20-2012 12:17 AM
Good station wagons to get? limerence General Fuel Topics 30 07-07-2008 11:29 PM
EOC restart beeping, and forum hate / moral projection theholycow General Fuel Topics 3 05-12-2008 01:05 PM
Old school cylinder deactivation MetroMPG General Fuel Topics 11 06-09-2006 07:29 AM
WAI revisited. zpiloto General Fuel Topics 14 05-16-2006 04:08 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.