SG Shenanigans - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2007, 02:53 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Jim Dunlop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 125
Country: United States
Pikachu, have you taken the engine compartment box out to see what the mess of wires looks like under it? I'd rather connect the Inj Enable switch leads to the wires which go to the back of the fuse than pull the fuse and poke leads into the fuse socket.
__________________

__________________

Team: Right Lane Rollers
Jim Dunlop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 04:27 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
skewbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 771
Country: United States
For the kill switch, I wired up a blown fuse actually to plug into the fuse carlosw2 indicated, then cut a little of the fuse box covers edge so the leads could escape unharmed.



more info:
If the inline fuse burns out, just unplug the whole kill switch circuit and plug in a fuse till you can fix it. No kill switch till then, but the car will run

I didn't have a burnt out fuse, so I popped one on the battery with a jumper. whee.

This technique is sure to work on a lot of different cars.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
Standard Disclaimer
skewbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 01:12 PM   #13
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
Jim -

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Dunlop View Post
Pikachu, have you taken the engine compartment box out to see what the mess of wires looks like under it? I'd rather connect the Inj Enable switch leads to the wires which go to the back of the fuse than pull the fuse and poke leads into the fuse socket.
You don't have to go under the fuse box. I will publish my manual fan radiator switch in another thread to show you how I modded that relay (thank you saturnfans.com!!!!!!!!!!!!!).

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 01:15 PM   #14
Supporting Member
 
cfg83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,779
Country: United States
skewbe -

Quote:
Originally Posted by skewbe View Post
For the kill switch, I wired up a blown fuse actually to plug into the fuse carlosw2 indicated, then cut a little of the fuse box covers edge so the leads could escape unharmed.



more info:
If the inline fuse burns out, just unplug the whole kill switch circuit and plug in a fuse till you can fix it. No kill switch till then, but the car will run

I didn't have a burnt out fuse, so I popped one on the battery with a jumper. whee.

This technique is sure to work on a lot of different cars.
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Meat and potatoes right there.

One reason I haven't done the kill switch is that I want to use either the cruise control button (I would lose cruise control, but that's ok) or the horn button (stealthy!!!) on my steering wheel to activate the fuel cutoff.

I don't want it on the shifter because I don't trust myself when it comes to accidentally tripping it.

CarloSW2
__________________
Old School SW2 EPA ... New School Civic EPA :

What's your EPA MPG? http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/calculatorSelectYear.jsp
cfg83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Country: United States
For the record skewbe's way is much better than mine. When I looked at that fuse I thought it meant it was shutting down a part of the ECM. I take it that is not happening or in any case it works well.
__________________
usedgeo
usedgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:15 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
trebuchet03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 812
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to trebuchet03
Thanks to whomever fixed the title - you rock
__________________
Time is the best teacher. Unfortunately it kills all its students.


Bike Miles (Begin Aug. 20 - '07): ~433.2 miles

11/12
trebuchet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 05:13 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 303
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by usedgeo View Post
For the record skewbe's way is much better than mine. When I looked at that fuse I thought it meant it was shutting down a part of the ECM. I take it that is not happening or in any case it works well.
I have repented. I redid the kill switch wiring today. It kills the engine immediately of course. Probably better, but at first it left the fuel consumption number at .3 gallons per hour almost every time. Maybe I need to play with the scan rate.
__________________

__________________
usedgeo
usedgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monthly Average Cost per Mile aisbrandtsen Fuelly Web Support and Community News 3 11-14-2008 07:33 AM
Place your bets on the smart... smartzuuk Experiments, Modifications and DIY 27 10-23-2007 04:06 PM
Rex-O-Saurus jacked mrmad General Discussion (Off-Topic) 22 04-26-2007 06:59 AM
92 VX might be for sale in North Dakota jadziasman General Fuel Topics 0 04-21-2007 06:57 PM
Summer time testing... need your ideas Matt Timion Experiments, Modifications and DIY 28 07-22-2006 07:34 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.