SGII Horsepower. - Page 2 - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2008, 09:39 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
I knew a guy wit an acura rsx-s. he put a lot of money into a custom programmed chip that changed many things including rev limits.

he floated the valves, lost power, tried to reset it, took it to the dealer, bought a new one.

the shop mechanic said that according to the codes, he had bent a valve. he followed that with, there is no way to do that because the car wouldn't let you do it. also, it was 2 years old.

he didn't modify the new one he bought (at all) and it made a lasting impression with me.
__________________

__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 04:13 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 447
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEEF View Post
I knew a guy wit an acura rsx-s. he put a lot of money into a custom programmed chip that changed many things including rev limits.

he floated the valves, lost power, tried to reset it, took it to the dealer, bought a new one.

the shop mechanic said that according to the codes, he had bent a valve. he followed that with, there is no way to do that because the car wouldn't let you do it. also, it was 2 years old.

he didn't modify the new one he bought (at all) and it made a lasting impression with me.
Ouch bent valve. Yes, that stuff does work. Generally, beating on a car ends up costing you $$$.
__________________

__________________
slurp812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:28 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
not to be completely ignorant but what is ROFL???

I assume (roll over freaking laughing) maybe, maybe not
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:45 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 447
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEEF View Post
not to be completely ignorant but what is ROFL???

I assume (roll over freaking laughing) maybe, maybe not
Rolling On (the) Floor Laughing.
__________________
slurp812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 04:36 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,624
Country: United States
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Don't forget the ROFLcopter...





We now return you to regularly scheduled programming.
__________________
This sig may return, some day.
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 05:29 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
close enough. not much of an acronym guy. I am learning though.

I'm not old (in my opinion), just never got into all of the short hand terms.

btw, I'm 29 (actually 29, not 29 several times over)
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 09:41 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 71
Country: United States
I read on a forum once that the SG horsepower reading was dependent on the value you give for engine size. The person that posted that said he increased the value for engine size on his economy car to something like 8.0 liters and he was able to get 300+ horsepower to display.

Has anyone tried this? on that note, what the heck does inputting the engine size do for you anyways?
__________________
FLAteam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:44 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
GasSavers_BEEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,831
the engine size is part of a calculation that it uses. I think it calculates it based on the a/f ratio and the engine size that you input and it also uses rpms as well.

I know there are probably more complicated equations that it uses than that but it really doesn't know how big your engine is or even how many cylinders there are. that is a big reason also for the correction percentage.

I have been tempted to try to up my displacement to see what the scangauge would read but it would mess up your mpg readings as well.
__________________
Be the change you wish to see in the world
--Mahatma Gandhi



GasSavers_BEEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:21 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 447
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by theholycow View Post
Don't forget the ROFLcopter...





We now return you to regularly scheduled programming.
ROFL Copter PWNS!!!!!1
__________________
slurp812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 08:23 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 447
Country: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAteam View Post
I read on a forum once that the SG horsepower reading was dependent on the value you give for engine size. The person that posted that said he increased the value for engine size on his economy car to something like 8.0 liters and he was able to get 300+ horsepower to display.

Has anyone tried this? on that note, what the heck does inputting the engine size do for you anyways?
Isn't that in place of the old scan gauge injector size setting???
__________________

__________________
slurp812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly Android App - eehokie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 07-14-2010 09:59 PM
Civic VX 5-wire O2 sensor, very low miles! Reborn996 For Sale 6 06-26-2008 10:07 AM
My last 3 fills popimp General Fuel Topics 4 07-15-2007 08:05 PM
MID Install SVOboy Experiments, Modifications and DIY 33 06-04-2007 11:27 AM
1966 Honda S600 Couple for sale - Lake Ontario, Canada Matt Timion For Sale 6 06-03-2006 06:00 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.