Spark plug mod - Fuelly Forums

Android Users - Coming Soon! - Migrating from aCar 4.8 to 5.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2006, 10:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
zpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,225
Country: United States
Spark plug mod

I've had some really good number on my last tank(considering it was mostly city) and lately on my commute. The only thing different besides removing the WAI (which was for about 100 miles) is a spark plug mod found here.http://fueleconomytips.com/index.php...id=31&Itemid=2
I just used the standard NGK plugs regapped at .035 instead of .044 and indexed. These plugs replace the side gapped and index one that were in there. I've got about 350 miles on them. Don't really know how to test this but it sure is not hurting anything and only took about 35 minutes to.
__________________

zpiloto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 10:45 AM   #2
|V3|2D
 
thisisntjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,186
Country: United States
Send a message via AIM to thisisntjared
so wait, all you did was get off the shelf plugs and close the gap?
__________________

__________________
don't waste your time or time will waste you
thisisntjared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 01:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
zpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,225
Country: United States
No you drill a 1/16" hole in the bonding strap above the electrode and then dish the electrode a little so that when it fires the spark will go through the hole in the bonding strap for more spark front. There's pictures in the link. It an interesting idea, granted that there is only 2-3% to be gained in this area but every bit helps.
zpiloto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 02:17 PM   #4
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I'm planning on doing extensive plug testing somewhere down the road, it'll be expensive, but whatev, it'll be nice to know also, I say, so yeah.

Anyone know who has the indexing washers now?
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:14 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
I'm planning on doing extensive plug testing somewhere down the road, it'll be expensive, but whatev, it'll be nice to know also, I say, so yeah.

Anyone know who has the indexing washers now?
I still have them. Just tell me where to send them.
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:16 PM   #6
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
I guess you dun got my address no mores. I'll pm you with your fancy instant messaging client.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:26 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
krousdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,480
Country: United States
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVOboy
I guess you dun got my address no mores. I'll pm you with your fancy instant messaging client.
Got your address via gassavers IM! I know... I am living on the edge.

Will send them out tomorrow. Still waiting for my MID and ECU chips? Should I IM you my address?
__________________


krousdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:28 PM   #8
*shrug*
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,195
Country: United States
Yeah, I guess you should, I lost it in the swap of sites and the whole falling asleep instead of burning you a new chip,

I'll cut your advance in half, just for kicks, shouldn't ping then, but what do I know, I'm pretty worthless.
SVOboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 09:28 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Country: United States
Spark Plus Socket Size

My 2005 Prius mileage had been as high as 61.3 mpg for a tank of gas over the summer. In the past month, my gas mileage dropped to 57.5 mpg, and the Prius, on occasion, wanted to stall when I accelerated or decelerated - although it never actually did.

I bought a set of Autolite platinum spark plugs to see if maybe the plugs are fouling. Can someone tell my what size spark plug socket I need to use to get the spark plugs out?
c8089923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 10:06 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 541
Country: United States
Why not use plugs with open electrodes.

I have used Magneti Marelli 4 electrode splugs extensively in performance applications.

Or you can use these..



But I have not seen an ounce of FE improvement.
__________________

onegammyleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuelly ownership change mathowie Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 08-26-2013 11:39 PM
US / metric switching problems gory Fuelly Web Support and Community News 4 01-24-2011 03:04 AM
Tracking Monthly Fuel Expense Taser Fuelly Web Support and Community News 2 11-10-2009 12:40 AM
TDI EPA figures off? bates General Fuel Topics 14 09-15-2009 09:04 AM
Low Rolling Resistance Tires SVOboy General Fuel Topics 33 04-04-2006 08:57 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.